Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

zsilvchrist2 zdily-2 zvamp zmits zsilvweddd

zscared-tink

zmed-catca3 zdickbloi

zdickens-333 zmed-45 zratry

dartbo

zout

https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/2017/02/03/sallys-cafe-and-bookstore-new-on-the-shelves-the-viking-and-the-courtesan-by-shehanne-moore

sallybookstore

zdickend-3

sgc-headshot-2-10-dec-2016-dsc_2195

Sally.

I am so excited to be here with you and The Dudes Shehanne.. I have never had a family member quite so small.. But I have to say you have me converted. Can you let me know where to find the talking kind and do you provide training?

zmed-rt5

zbooo2

zviking-h

Sally

I have often asked myself this question and I finally realised it shaped who I am today both positively and negatively. I loved the whole experience from the travelling on planes and ships, to meeting new people and immersing myself in new cultures. Even at a very young age of three or four it gave me a confidence with meeting people, particular adults and I absorbed every moment like a sponge.

zdaisy

That has stayed with me as my husband I have travelled and lived around the world ,but I have to admit that there comes a point when you feel you need to return to your roots.

There is a downside to this constant moving every two to three years, especially as a child, as you leave friends behind. In those days you knew that you would never see them again unlike to day with modern technology. It could be tough learning a new language and trying to fit in at a new school but again, I do think that it gave me a resilience that stood me in good stead in my career and future relationships.

zdickensssss-s

I would say too, that because there were frequent changes as a child and teenager that I find it hard not to get itchy feet after a couple of years. Hence I may have been a little hasty when I announced to the world that this was our last move!

zmed-4

Sally.

Probably living in Texas. zgenerla

We were in our mid 30s, no children and living in a complex with others of a similar age. They were so welcoming and we had some very good parties at the weekend…I mean ones that you either cannot remember or cannot talk about! Thankfully some of those that we met in 1985 – 1987 are still friends with us today. My husband was working but I was not allowed to without an appropriate visa. This meant that I would take full advantage of the pool as well as retail therapy.. I was fascinated by the food in the shops and variety as well as the discount malls which did not exist in the UK. David was travelling a great deal and racking up the free air miles.  This meant we could take full advantage of living in the US for the two years. I would fly off on a Friday and meet up with David wherever he might be in the States and fly back on Mondays.. We got to see a great deal of the country including Hawaii. Now I could live there in a Mumu and a few pearls around my neck.

zmed-dor

zmed-bbbbu

zmed-565

Wow what a place.  Dudes.. Stop getting excited….a mumu is a dress.

zmedbbbbbb ztony zmed56565656566 zsilvbusted

zsilvsallt

Sally

I was always a story teller (I think my mother called them fibs!) I would create scenarios in my head from about the age of five and then act them out. This did result in some escapades which I later committed to paper. I was quite fond of verse and by 16 was writing songs but then things took a back seat to work and life. I began writing short stories when we lived in the States and had more time on my hands and they accumulated until my 40s when I began to get serious about it.

zdickensnsnnnsnsfdnfbdsnfbdnfbdnfbdnfbdnf

zmed-bbbbbbbubb

Sally

I probably would say my years on radio are the ones that stand out for me. Loved the whole presenting, music, guests buzz and I would do again in a heartbeat. I keep threatening to do a podcast and it is something that is definitely on the agenda. But I have so much on the agenda that I have to cram in over the next 30 or so years (I am an optimist) that I might have to prioritise. Learning the Argentinian Tango was high on the list five year’s ago but my right knee is on strike and I may have to take that off the list.. But never say never!

tango zmed-bob

zdickwords

Sally

I think it is a fairly even mix as I tend to have two books on the go at the same time or four! I like swapping between non-fiction which is a different style of writing across to fiction that I can be more imaginative about. I find non-fiction requires a more serious approach and does not quite offer the same opportunities for humour.. The body and its organs require the upmost respect.. I do however allow myself a little more latitude in non-health books.. With fiction the world is your oyster and depending on the genre of course, you can be as fanciful as you like.

sgc-book-covers-9x-web

zmed-sing

zmed-bb

Sally

You have a point there.. Trouble is, I have not really had an up close and personal relationship with hamsters. Now I have met you, I can see this is very remiss of me. Sam would have liked you as he was not a hunter but a lover.

zlocation

 

zdickenssHe collected stray kittens and was very gentle. It is perhaps something I can rectify in the next volume of Tales from the Garden.. You will need to send me some photographs so I can write a story around you.. Perhaps a formal pose or two and one being a little more natural but I am afraid you might have to leave the bubbles behind…I would of course find a title to the story befitting your status in blogland.

ztinerb

zsilvmaster

zant

zcamera

zbabyh

zmedginge zmed-dortytytytanto

Sally

This is entirely possible as they love carrots for exactly the reason I recommend them for humans. It makes them see better in the dark and I would think that was a benefit for rabbits and hamsters alike. The other benefits are that you can wear the feathery foliage attached to new carrots as decorations for your hats.zmedcell

 

zmedrtrtrtr

 

 

zsilveerererere

zdickens-cell

zsilv34

Sally

I would need to know how much Hamstah actually eats in the day

zdickens-cell

and how long he spends on his treadmill..zdickens-cell

I would suggest that he does a workout for 30 minutes before eating three times a day.. Only half a carrot, half a gem lettuce and some grapes.. Red ones as they are better for him. And as a treat some nuts and seeds before bed.

zdicke

(What he must do is stop ferreting around in his human’s porridge oats when she is not looking!)

zsilvbnbnbnbn

Sally

Writing is not a hobby, it is serious work that requires a great deal of time, research, effort and emotional and mental strength. These days there are the additional elements of self-publishing which is the most common route to being an author. Writing might be a solitary occupation but it should never be isolated. You need people who will support, encourage and give you constructive criticism.

First and foremost.. Read, read, read. Especially your chosen genre. Read the best and the most successful and then when you write bring something new to the game. Don’t expect to have a hit right away but stick with it and learn to love and respect your talent. Finally build a platform of other writers who will see you through the sticky times.. And there will be some. But there is nothing better in the world than seeing your first book in print or as an ebook available around the world.. Or your second, third or more. Go for it.

zmedcattttt

Sally

My next collection of short stories has just been released. What’s in a Name is based on letters of the alphabet, with each letter having two stories one male and one female.. Multi-genre with murder, mystery, romance, revenge and any other emotional entanglement I could find..

I have three more books planned for this year.. Another Tales from the Garden.. A combined business and personal people management manual (there are many parallels at work and home).. And a non-fiction book that is nearly finished on modern life and how to survive it.

Apart from that… Just keep blogging, reading amazing posts and books and sharing other authors and their work. Dream job.

Thank you so much Shehanne for having me over.. I am just doing a pat down and head count in case I wander off with a Dude… I hear that they get everywhere..zdickens-cell

And Dudes.. Your reputation proceeded you and they were all lies.. You are delightful and perspicacious… A rare combination…keep eating the carrots.

zmedmm

whats_in_a_name

There are names that have been passed down through thousands of years which have powerful and deep-rooted meaning to their bearers. Other names have been adopted from other languages, cultures and from the big screen. They all have one thing in common. They are with us from birth until the grave and they are how we are known to everyone that we meet.

There are classical names such as Adam, David and Sarah that will grace millions of babies in the future. There are also names that parents have invented or borrowed from places or events in their lives which may last just one lifetime or may become the classic names of tomorrow.

Whatever the name there is always a story behind it. In What’s in a Name? – Volume One, twenty men and women face danger, love, loss, romance, fear, revenge and rebirth as they move through their lives.

Anne changes her name because of associations with her childhood, Brian carries the mark of ancient man, Jane discovers that her life is about to take a very different direction, and what is Isobel’s secret?

What’s in a Name available at a reduced price via my publishing website- http://www.moyhill.com/wian/

 

Or Amazon: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01N6Y8BK1

All my other book available: https://www.amazon.com/author/sallycroninbooks

Main contact links

Blog : https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sally.cronin

LinkedIn: http://uk.linkedin.com/in/sallycronin1

Twitter: https://twitter.com/sgc58

 

 

 

