Tags

, , , , , , , ,

zwqwqw9

zmed-bb

 

zmed-bbbbbbwil

zwe660000000faroooo000

 

zwe660000

zwe660000000

zswwwwyioioioioioi

zswwwwop

zwe6silv

zwwwwwq288

zwwwwwq2881tytytytytytyty

zmed-

Okay dudes, now today we are going to be nice and welcome our lovely friend

zmedobubbybb

Cat and I do not write the same genres but I adore both her books and her. She’s been a  great support to me., a wonderful author friend.

zswwww78787

We do indeed have books coming out at roughly the same time.

zswwww7878718

zwe6silv

I’m going to be over on Cat’s lovely blog on Tuesday, talking about time travel, whether it’s ever happened or not, since my new heroine is a time traveller, but the link won’t be live till then…Tuesday that is…for all you time travellers out there.

http://www.catherinecavendish.com/2015/07/the-viking-and-courtesan-time-travel.html

it’s the first stop on  a blog tour.

Today it is my pleasure to invite  Cat here

zswwww7878718

with her amazing new book which is on my TBR pile and she’s going to blog about the Goddess of Vengeance and we are all going to listen nicely, not interrupting, not complaining. If you are good little hamstahs you will get to do something very special, which we will talk about later. Much, much later. In fact, this week some time. Now then…

 

Nemesis – Goddess of Vengeance – by Catherine Cavendish

 My latest novella – Dark Avenging Angel – is, as its title suggests, concerned with revenge. In this case, revenge of the most demonic kind. We’ve all heard the old adage, “Be careful what you wish for…”

zmedobub

Jane learns the truth of this in graphic ways.

zlaunch20

 

Avenging angels and demons abound in the traditions and folklore of people all over the world. From ancient Greek culture comes the queen of them all – the Goddess of Vengeance herself – Nemesis.

pic 1

Nemesis ensured that retribution was made for sins committed. Evil deeds and undeserved good fortune were roundly punished.

zmedbobbbb

Rather like my dark avenging angel, Nemesis took account. But Nemesis’s purpose in life was to maintain equilibrium. She measured out happiness and unhappiness. If she judged you to be experiencing too much happiness, you could expect Nemesis to put a stop to it, by inflicting loss or suffering on you. As a result of her actions, she was regarded as a punishing and avenging divinity, often portrayed as a winged goddess, carrying an apple-branch, rein, lash, sword or balance.

 

pic 2

 

Nemesis was also particularly active in matters of the heart. The ancient story of Narcissus is just one example. Narcissus was an especially beautiful boy from the Greek town of Thespiae, who made a habit of breaking the hearts of girls and young men who had the misfortune to fall in love with him. Significant among these was the beautiful Echo, who was cursed by the goddess Hera to only be able to speak the last few words of what had been said immediately before. When Narcissus spurned her, she faded away, until only her haunting echo remained.

zrzege

zmed1

But the trouble really began when a youth called Ameinias became highly distraught after Narcissus cruelly spurned him. Not content with merely fading away, Ameinias killed himself before Narcissus’s door. As he died, he called on Nemesis to avenge his death. She heard his call and caused Narcissus to fall in love with his own image as he gazed into a pool. He tried to touch the image, but of course, he never could. Unable to tear himself away from the object of his devotion, Narcissus slowly pined away. Other versions have him killing himself in despair. In both cases, his demise led to the creation of the flower that bears his name – created out of his life blood by nymphs. As far as Nemesis was concerned, balance had been restored and Ameinias’s death avenged.zhumjiuuuu

 zmed115

 

pic 3

Over the many centuries, Nemesis has been portrayed in countless guises in literature, theatre and film. The legendary crime writer, Agatha Christie, couldn’t resist at least two references to her. She named one of her mysteries Nemesis and has a character in A Caribbean Mystery refer to sleuth, Miss Marple, as his nemesis. The film, Star Trek: Nemesis turned out to be aptly named since it was not the box office hit that had been expected and was the last instance of the entire cast of Star Trek: The Next Generation appearing together on film. Maybe that franchise had been just a little too successful up until then, and an ancient Greek goddess decided it was time to redress the balance.

pic 4

tink9

Now, to give you a taste of Dark Avenging Angel, here’s the blurb:

 Don’t hurt Jane. You may live to regret it.

Bullied by her abusive father, Jane always felt different. Then the lonely child found a friend in a mysterious dark lady who offers her protection—a lady she calls her “angel”. But that protection carries a terrible price, one to be paid with the souls of those Jane chooses to suffer a hideous and eternal fate.

When Jane refuses to name another victim, the angel reveals her most terrifying side. Payment must be made in full—one way or the other.

 And here’s a brief extract:

 Something had woken me from a deep sleep, troubled by my recurring nightmare in which I was in a wood, being chased by some unimaginable horror. I never saw its face, assuming it even had one. But I knew if I didn’t find sanctuary, it would kill me. I had just made it into the strange little house that always appeared in the clearing, when my eyes opened and I gasped at the white, smiling face looking down at me.

 That night, my angel seemed different somehow.

 Oh, she looked the same. Same black cloak, but this time it shimmered and I wanted to touch it. I was sure it would feel soft as velvet under my fingers.

 She put her finger to her lips and stroked my hair. Her touch was like a gentle breeze in summertime. My eyes wanted to close, but I forced them to stay open.

 I knew I mustn’t speak out loud, but I could still whisper. “I wish I knew your name. Who are you? Please will you tell me?” 

She continued to smile. Her lips moved, but the answering voice I heard was again in my head. Do not be afraid, child. It is not yet time, but soon you will have the power to avenge yourself on those who have done you harm. Look for me in the shadows and I will be there, taking account.

 I understood nothing of what she said. But, from somewhere, a calm I had never felt before emerged and wrapped itself around me.

 I blinked in the darkness as she faded from sight.

 Then I closed my eyes and slept. I never had that nightmare again after that night. But what if I’d known what was ahead for me? 

Some things are better off left in the dark.

 You can find Dark Avenging Angel here:

Samhain Publishing

Amazon Barnes and Noble 

Kobo

 

pic 5

 About the author:

 Following a varied career in sales, advertising and career guidance, Cat is now the full time author of a number of paranormal, ghostly and Gothic horror novels, novellas and short stories. She was the 2013 joint winner of the Samhain Gothic Horror Anthology Competition, with Linden Manor, which features in the anthology What Waits in the Shadows.  Her novels, The Pendle Curse and Saving Grace Devine are also published by Samhain. Her novella – Dark Avenging Angel – will be published on August 4th and her next novel – The Devil’s Serenade – will be released by Samhain in April 2016

You can connect with Cat here:

Catherine Cavendish

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Tsu