Tags

, , , , , ,

ingzmed555 tttt

zmed555-0-0-

zwe6silv

zwe660000000faroooo

zwe660000000

zwe660

zmed8

 

zwe660000

zmed819

Okay…dudes… dudes… I must offer my apologies for being so remiss this week, but family, house, editing, writing, writing blog posts for my blog tour and Glencoe have kind of made things extra busy.

zmed 4

Yes. Glencoe was looking very nice, as you can see from this pic here….

DSCF4187

zmed-4888

Remind me to blog the story of James of the Glen who inspired the book Kidnapped and also my two blog awards as well as show off my shabby chic dining room…

DSCF4224

AFTER we welcome our latest guest,

zmed-488866

 

the lovely, the adorable, the fabulously talented….

zswwww7878718

CHRISTY BIRMINGHAM. Poet extraordinaire. A huge talent and a very nice lady, who I’m thrilled has agreed to come along and be interviewed.

christy

zswwww78787

 

zw09

 

zswwww

zdicke

Okay dudes, can we stop this please and if we do and if we interview Christy nicely, about the important things in her life and her writing, then you can all get out of the medieval hamster house and we’ll take it from there ok?  Are we agreed?.

zwe6silv

zmed-476

Two words…. Gingerbread houses.  Now let’s have question one.

zmed66666

Christy. No, I don’t, no pets for Christy. But, I do play well with words!

zlaunch20

Christy. It takes me a little while to get used to hamsters. But, once I do, I am always up for smiling with them. I think hamsters with red roses are very sweet.zlove999919090

 

zmed-488866klklklklk

Shey.  Can we please have question 3? We agreed, didn’t we? Something worthwhile? And life changing?

zmedyuyuyuy

zmedyuyuyuy7878787878787

Christy. My pet hamster, well… I would name it Donovan. That seems like a very proper name, right? I hope the hamster would behave, given the upstanding name.

zmedrat

zmed-488866klklklklkdon

Shey. Right dudes, that was your final warning.  Christy, what drew you to writing poetry?

Christy .Poetry is an art form that I find flows smoothly from my mind to the keyboard. It’s like my thoughts come out, express themselves, naturally in poetic lines. I enjoy the containment of the short lines and the lyrical quality of poems too.

Shey. Who would you cite as your main influences –if any?

zmedwilb

Christy. My parents are huge supporters today, and so they have influenced me in many positive ways! Literary influences include Maya Angelou and Margaret Atwood. Their strong female profiles have reminded me time and again of all that I can accomplish in life.

angelou3-sized

Shey.  Please tell us about Versions of the Self, your wonderful new book.zswwwwop

 

christy

Christy.  Versions of the Self is my second poetry collection. It is newly published! For this book, I looked at the world as types of self and found a new level for perspective. There is the inner self, connections between selves as friends, romantic, spiritual,and more. In my book, I explore the meeting and connections between those different selves, how those events change them, and the results that happen.Creativity? Bring it on!

Shey.  Where do you find you inspiration?

zmedwilb

Christy. Inspiration is anywhere and everywhere. I might read an article online, and it triggers a viewpoint inside me that compels me to write a poem. Or I will walk out in nature, which refreshes my mind and see something that excites me to write a verse. I find inspiration in all sorts of places. I never know when or where it will occur, so I try to always have pen and paper within my reach.

zant

Shey.  Do you have a favourite poet?

zswwwwyioioioioioi

Christy.  Maya Angelou is a favourite poet of mine. I read this quote from her and thought it was amazing:

 

“You may encounter many defeats but you must not be defeated.”

Shey. it’s a great quote. Very powerful. She was an amazing talented and inspiring lady. You have wonderful blogs where you believe in inspiring and empowering but you also touch on darker problems for people, why is this?
Christy. Thank you for the kind words. I hope that by sharing my personal experiences with depression, anxiety and abuse that I can help someone, even by potentially showing a reader that she or he is not alone in these struggles. I share what I have learned and what I still have issues with, as it is important not to be perfect but instead to be real. I believe that I am alive today because I am meant to share what I went through using words. It is a key part of my purpose so I would not be authentic if I do less than that.christy

Shey. You’re always very real, which is why I knew I could ask you  that question and you would answer it truthfully and in a way that might help others.

Christy. I went through a dark time, as I talk about in my first book Pathways to Illumination, in which I was very depressed. While people look at me today and see a smiling woman, it is important that they know I came to be that way by choice, by so many difficult choices. I made those hard decisions because I refuse to live in darkness any longer.

If anyone is feeling lonely or as though life is not worth living, I want them to find solace in words I can offer. I want to share positive stories and feelings to show there is goodness in the world, and there is a way to get out of the darkness to find the light. xo

zhamsta411000000

Shey. It’s not just Maya Angelou who is inspiring. Do have any advice for aspiring writers because this isn’t a business for the faint hearted!

Christy.  Follow your heart! If you want to write a book, you really can. If you want to blog, start one for free with WordPress.com. It is easier to do when you break down the project into smaller chunks.

Don’t put “write book” on your daily to-do list

but instead put “brainstorm personality for a primary character in the book.”

Create small steps for the book project and do a bit daily. For Versions of the Self, I spent an hour each day on it. It was what I could fit in my day. And on the days when I didn’t have time for it, I offered myself forgiveness. If you fall off the wagon, just get back on and get back to writing the next day.zdickenss

Shey. What’s next for Christy Birmingham?

Christy. That’s the beauty of the future, Shey! Anything is possible. More books, more blog posts, and more smiles lay ahead for me. I am excited about life, and that includes the present day. Thank you for having me to your blog for this interview! I say “Cheers” to you and the hamstahs!

 

Pick up your copy of Versions of the Self now at:

Kindle US

Kindle CA

Kindle UK

Kindle AU

And

Hard copy book is available at CreateSpace

I KNOW I HAVE!

About Versions of Self.

Imagine a shift to the way you see the world that arises through poetic narration.

Imagine the world, at its base level, is a collection of selves. These selves collide, disperse, intermingle, and share themselves in lines of free verse. Such is the premise of Versions of the Self, poetry that assumes multiple types of selves exist and relate in ways that alter them. Each of the eight chapters looks at a different type of self, including the singular “I” and romantic interactions. These unique 80 poems definitely color themselves outside of the lines

Find Christy Birmingham,

https://www.facebook.com/poeticparfait

http://poeticparfait.com/

http://whenwomeninspire.com/