Tags

, , , , , , ,

ham36untitledlllllhhhhhhu9kat9

kat8

kat1

ham360

ham36-

Bn2iQLyCAAEUB2r kate's hamsterOh, quit coming it. AND DON’T even think about saying what you think of them. As if I would do such a thing when we have a guest, a very special guest on their release day  and what we do for guests is hang out banners, crack open the bubbly and things.

jersey1000

katy0

ham36

I hope you are meaning the jerseys. MY God, weren’t you the ones who invited Kate here? Hmmmm?

get-attachment

ham3600

untitled0-

hamj

kat990944991909090

Of course you do. That’s better. Except you better not be planning anything other than a few balloons.

Kate is one lovely, awesome lady and I’m thrilled to have her back here to spill beans on her new UK release…TODAY!!

katey

A gorgeous cover for a gorgeous book. (She’s also been working flat out on her next one, as well as promoting this one big time.)kat99094499

 untitled22099999

Hmmmm. Getting suspicious here. Very, very suspicious.

Also, why this one is top of TBR pile is, it’s set in the Bahamas at the time of a certain famous murder…

Having cued the scary music,  let’s not hang about. ….

Firstly, Kate,  let’s start with ‘Set in the Bahamas 1943’, now we know you don’t have a time machine, so of course this did not mean a research trip, now did it?

 Kate.  ‘Research trip’ is so totally the wrong term. It’s called ‘suffering for one’s art’. All those white-sand beaches I had to walk. All those rum punches I was obliged to test out. As for snorkelling on a coral reef, how could I possibly know that it was unnecessary for my book unless I’d tried it first? See what I mean? Sheer suffering.image

Shey. That beach defo has blisters on it. You can see. Your feet do. Your fingers do. The palm trees  even. The suffering is shocking.

 hamj

hamstd

Well, then Hanstah Dickens you should NOT have eaten your manuscript.

zxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxl9zxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxl9999

This book is a world away from many of your other settings, what inspired you to set a book there? Was it that you just desired, indeed you needed,  to suffer even more?

Kate. Are you kidding? Did I mention the white-sand beaches, the rum punches, the coral reefs, the skies so blue you could drown in them. No, no, of course that’s not what got me all fired up about jetting off to the Bahamas. What on earth made you think that?

Shey. My fervent imagination.

Kate. It was a real life murder story that occurred there in 1943 that drew me to the glossy sun-soaked Bahamas. It had all the ingredients for a great book – passion, mystery, glitz and royalty glamour, scandal and hatred, and above all, greed and gold.

The Duke and Duchess of Windsor, pictured in Palm Beach possibly as early as the post-war 1940s - Lady Henrietta Spencer Churchill, American Friends of British Art, Palm Beach - Homa Nasab for MuseumViewsAll I had to add was a love story. Hey presto! My next book, THE FAR SIDE OF THE SUN.

Shey. Is your book based on the famous, or infamous, Harry Oakes case? image (1)

Or is it a backdrop to the story?

 untitledpo

Kate, Spot on, hamstahs! You’re not as dumb as you look.

untitledpo0It was indeed the notorious murder of Sir Harry Oakes, one of the richest men in the world, that got me going.

Shey. I knew it!

Kate. To be honest, it was a car that started me on the trail. Not any old car, no sir. It was a glamorous American coffin-nosed Cord automobile 1936. hamc

untitledlllllhhhhhhu90

image (1)

untitledlllllhhhhhhu9069

Many years ago, because of my love affair with that car I was lucky enough to get to know James Leasor who owned one. He wrote a heap of successful action-packed crime novels. But he also wrote a non-fiction book called ‘Who Killed Sir Harry Oakes?’images3QXL0N1C

Out of politeness I read it. Oh my, I was hooked. To my surprise, when I came to start plotting my next book twenty years later, the questions about this mysterious unsolved murder elbowed their way to the front of my seriously overcrowded mind and that was it. I was up and running. Well, flying, to be more exact.  Straight to the Bahamas. To solve a mystery that no one else had been able to solve. Just call me Kate Sherlock. But I promise you that it is woven in with a passionate love story – and there’s no Reichenbach Falls!kateyu

Shey, I think they just have called you that! You’ve two completely contrasting female leads, can you tell us a bit about them and why you chose to make them so different from each other?

 Kate. Dodie and Ella. My heart was torn between the pair of them. Dodie Wyatt is young and from the wrong side of the tracks. Feisty, angry at life, a loner. She’s got a lot to learn. Lives in a shack on the beach. And then there’s Ella. She has it all. Married to a wealthy diplomat, she has time and money to play Lady Bountiful to the natives and to the brave boys in uniform far away from home. But she is bored and restless. Her marriage is an empty champagne glass. Life’s party is over.glsd

Shey. Ooooh, liking, liking…..

Kate. When these two women clash swords, sparks fly and it changes their lives. I made Dodie and Ella very different from each other, yes, that’s true. But as danger stalks into their lives (watch out, hamstahs) it is what they discover that they have in common that carries them through the dark times of THE FAR SIDE OF THE SUN. Cut their wrists and they both bleed the same colour blood.

Shey. I guess that is very true of people and a good vein to tap into. Oops. Of course, there’s also something about island life, isn’t there?zimage

 Kate. Oh yes, indeed! Island calypso music, island beaches, island hammocks slung between palm trees in the shade. Island rum. kat99094499=

Island colours are vibrant – more blues and reds and shimmering greens than you thought ever existed. Island community spirit and island backsides – both as big and warm as their hearts.zxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxl99990

But toss a coin and you get the flip side. Isolation. Claustrophobia. Unemployment. Everyone dipping fingers into everyone else’s business. Nowhere to run. Nowhere to hide. Time to peel away the layers and find what lurks underneath. All taking place during an intense time of wartime turmoil. Oh yes, did I mention island rum, hamstahs?

zimageShey. I think you did. They spent time with a pirate recently and have turned into rum lushes. Such is life. Can you tell us a bit about the guys in these lovely ladies’ lives?zxzxzxzx9889888787g50505050500ooo

 Kate. The guys. Bring ‘em on. As different and as difficult as their women. Flynn Hudson is an American with an uneasy edge to him. Tall and lean. Hard core tough guy who is more at home in the icy backstreets of Chicago than in the blinding sunshine of Nassau. He rates courage in a person. It’s what really counts when the going gets tough – which it always does when Flynn is around.

Shey. Woh. I’m swooning for Flynn. faKate. Then he meets Dodie, an outsider like himself. She changes his world.

Shey. Hmm. Too bad. Must see what I can do about that.

Kate. Dan Calder is a police detective. Disciplined, orderly, his mind as sharp as his gun holster. He has an earthy sense of humour and a way of talking that captivates Ella. He makes this elegant classy lady revel in getting down and dirty. And then there are the handcuffs ….

zzzzzzzzzzzzz53

zzzzzzzzzzzzz5300

Shey. Oh can it, Tink. Do you like hamsters? We of course mean …Excuse me fellahs, who the hell put that question there?  How excited are you to see this one in print?

 Kate.  Excited is too puny a word for it. Let’s try thrilled, jubilant, electrified, quivering, galvanised, enraptured … Yep, now we’re getting there. And that’s just how I feel about hamsters! Oh yes, the book too.ac

zxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxl99990000zxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxl999900000Shey. Kate, do ignore them. How long did it take you to write the book?

Kate.  Too long. Deadlines come and go – like the island wind ….. Under a year.

Shey. Any major stumbling blocks?

Kate. I always have stumbling blocks. So what’s new? In this book, dealing with real historical people like the Duke and Duchess of Windsor was tricky at times.

Shey. I always think it’s hard to write the ‘realies.’ People nearly always have opinions on them. So, moving swiftly on, do you have a favourite island?

 Kate. I like the idea of an island – in theory. Love its isolation. But I’ve hardly been to any. Sicily was stunning and was stampeded by wild flowers in May.

zimageyBut in the deep recesses of my heart, I do stark and windblown. I live for my days spent on Dartmoor. So I think a Scottish island might suit me just fine, though I’ve not ventured to one yet. Or Iceland? Hmm, volcanoes there. I wonder what roast hamster tastes like.

zzzzzzzzzzzzz53009

Shey. Oh don’t worry.  I’ve stood on one. A volcano I mean. Burnt my foot too. Any advice for aspiring writers on choosing a location? Like I was aspiring then and that was plainly a bum move on my part.

 Kate.  Choose a location you love. If you love it yourself, it will come alive in the book and you’ll make your reader love it too. And if you want to sell books by the shed-load, the sunnier the location the better! Hamstahs, get your bikinis on.zxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxl9999000000

And there we have it folks. It just remains for me to wish Kate a wonderful print release day on this book. I’ve loved this lady’s books for years. I just know this one is gonna be one fabulous read. Congratulations Kate and thank you. kateyWith beautiful blue skies, sandy beaches and glorious sunshine, the Bahamas is a slice of heaven. But in 1943, the world is at war and even paradise isn’t safe . . .

Twenty-three-year-old Dodie Wyatt thought she had escaped her turbulent past – but one night her peace is shattered when she chooses to help a man she finds stabbed in an alleyway.

On the other side of Nassau, wealthy diplomat’s wife Ella Stanford plays the role she has been born into, throwing herself into charitable work and charming her husband’s powerful friends. But she has secrets to keep – and those secrets could put her life in danger.

When one of the richest men in the world is found dead, these two very different women – Dodie, a shy introvert, and Ella, a confident socialite – are drawn together. With the unstable island spiralling into violence, deceit, greed and death, Dodie and Ella have only each other to rely on, as their lives are torn apart . . .

Find out about  best selling Kate here.

http://www.katefurnivall.com/

check out The Far side of the Sun here.

http://t.co/F9MejmojIr