Gonnae no do that…Common misrepresentations of Scotland.

Tags

, , ,

Interesting huh–courtesy of the lovely CeeLee? William Wallace is a Highlander. Well, he’s Scots isn’t he?  SO obviously he is a Highlander. Kilt wearing clans even live in the Borders.

kilteduuuiii

kilted-20066669

kilteduuuiiiooooooo

 

kilteduuuiiiooooooo8880

kiltedyuyuy

 

kilteduuuiiiooooooo88808888

ham50000

So…you wanna write a book set in Scotland? I think being a native, I’m allowed to round off my It’s Scottish week, by giving yah my pet peeves.

number

gerarSorry…I just felt like showing a kilt. Obvi Gerard is NOT a pet peeve. Certainly not with a leg like that.

Donny is an Osmond. I’ve read Scottish books where I don’t recognize the lingo and I live here. If you’re meaning don’t…the word is dinnae. num

gerar

Well, I showed Gerard once, I might as well do it again….I did once consider him as a muse for the Black Wolf after all, even if he never made the final cut. Hey Gerard….nice boots.

Highland clans did not live in the Borders. I know that’s really hard to believe when there are umpteen books that say they did. Highland Clans lived in the Highlands and were mainly regarded as savages by their Lowland Scottish neighbours on account of their pillaging, cattle-reiving  activities. —Sorry Callm but they were– .  Then along came the Irish from the famine and they were thought to be worse.

SO if your book is set in the Borders, or north England,  pulease stop dragging in the Highlanders and planking  them there for the Sassenach lassie to marry, unless they were marching with Bonnie Prince Charlie.

numjjjjj

 

gerard 3

Not only did vicars and parsons not exist in 13th Century Scotland, they don’t exist in Scotland. Period.  They’re English terms for English churchmen. Until the Reformation Scotland had priests, afterwards it was priests and ministers etc etc, etc, etc… eight. (Echt– that is Scots for eight which brings me to…)

numberss

 

gerard

which is half of eght. Gaelic was not spoken in the borders. Scots was spoken there. So can we also stop these English Regency dudes with Scottish estates barking out their commands in Gaelic the second they cross the border in their fancy carriages, or on horseback….thank you. Do you really want the locals scratching their heids and asking WTF is thon poncy Sassenach joker on aboot?

tartanm gerardOh…okay… I get the biz of the half dressed guy sells books but does he have to go through the book with no shirt in our shit stinking weather?  Sorry? His name is Gerard Butler so the answer is yes?

Well I did my best.

That’s it for Scottish week and Kara, the Wolf and His Judas Bride.ham676lok8ttt9

 

But I will be back…lucky you…. with Pirates.

As  for who Turdygub was…well, it goes like this…..from His Judas Bride

shehanne j

Against the wishes of the Black Wolf of Lochalpin, Archibald Kelty, the late Lord Mhor McDunnagh’s most trusted bodyguard and friend, cordially invites you to the wedding…..

shehanne j
between Lady Kara McGurkie oldest daughter of the tinker chief, the Black Wolf’s sworn enemy

sheannne

 

and Lord Ewen McDunnagh…chief of clan McDunnagh, the Black Wolf’s ‘Turdypused’ younger brother.

 

“Daddy’s got to go, sweetheart. Take the pretty lady to see Uncle…” He hesitated over the word Turdygub. That would be to bring further complaint from Meg down on his head in an already difficult situation. A situation where he was now going to have to take the chit to Turdygub. “…Ewen up at the castle. You be good. No more swearing. You promise me? Hmm?”

Fallon wrapped her arms around his neck. “Yes, Daddy.”

“Because, sweetheart, if you’re not—”

He ruffled her hair before setting her down. His boots seemed to echo for an eternity across the flagstones, past the stag heads watching dully from their mounts on the draped walls, the pewter shining on the dresser. The thing was, despite all he’d said he hadn’t expected her to march in here and call him out in front of his men. So now he had no choice but to saddle Satan, didn’t he? So then, tonight, if not before, she and Ewen… Turdypus, not gub…

Christ, what the hell was wrong with him?

HisJudasBride_ByShehanneMoore-453x680

 

To love, honor, and betray…

To get back her son, she will stop at nothing…
For five years Kara McGurkie has preferred to forget she’s a woman. So it’s no problem for her to swear to love and honor, to help destroy a clan, when it means getting back the son she lost. But when dire circumstances force her to seduce her fiancé’s brother on the eve of the wedding, will the dark secrets she holds and her greatest desire be enough to save her from his powerful allure?
To save his people, neither will he…
Callm McDunnagh, the Black Wolf of Lochalpin, ruthlessly guards heart and glen from dangerous intruders. But from the moment he first sees Kara he knows he must possess her, even though surrendering to his passion may prove the most dangerous risk of all.
She has nothing left to fear except love itself…
Now only Kara can decide what passion can save or destroy, and who will finally learn the truth of the words… Till death do us part.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “Gonnae no do that…Common misrepresentations of Scotland.”

  1. I would love, love, love to write a book set in Scotland, but I don’t. Why? Precisely because I feel ill-prepared to do so. The lingo, the lands, the history… there’s so much to take in! I prefer to leave Scotland for the experts😉 and write novels placed in fictional places based on real places, that way I can play with my own rules. Muahaha! :p

  2. Well, all I can say is, it needed saying and you’re the best qualified person I know to say it. Shey! Scotland has a myriad of dialects. Up in Orkney, anything small is ‘peedie’. I used it in ‘Saving Grace Devine’. You won;t find that naywhere outside the northern isles though (or so I believe). A few miles across the Pentland Firth back on the north coast of Scotland – Caithness to be precise – there is a small village where, certainly a few years ago, the second most likely accent you’d hear emanated from Yorkshire!

    • Hee hee. I once went to Iona and there wasn’t a Scottish tongue to be heard! I just felt like being bad with this post Cat. Orkney is another whole culture because of course you had the Norse influence. It’s a fabulous place to set a book for a huge number of reasons.

  3. Very interesting and reason number one, two and three why I don’t write historical fiction. Nuances of language are fascinating, but hard to do well. I can see why you are able to pull it off in your books, Shey! And thanks for the added pictures of Gerard. You can never have enough of him. Hoots man! I mean hot man, I mean…hmmm, what do I mean?

    • Oh, we know what you mean Shaz. I put him up today for you though you may have to fight Aubrey Wynne but hey, you already fought Anne Lange so…. Lovely to see you. Cat and Elyzabeth xxxxxx

  4. Gee I wonder where you got this idea? lol
    Thank you for the good info, Lord knows I’da screwed it up 3 ways to Sunday iffen ya hadn’t.
    I need all the non-procrastination help I can get these days 😉

  5. (chuckles) mooseknuckle…it kills me…

  6. incyblack said:

    Yer ken? That’s my *nervous* contribution. I’m saving Scotland for my post-apocolyptic novel…(the glens survive) xxx

  7. Another awesome post, and more Gerard Butler is always welcome😀

    Though, now you have me thinking, do you prefer when people write a Scottish accent in books using the lingo? Or would you prefer that, if the writer wasn’t Scottish and didn’t know the common phrases, that they just wrote the dialogue without an accent?

    (I hope that question made sense!)

    • It makes perfect sense Mishka. (Glad you like Gerard by the way!!) Personally writing His Judas bride, I toned the accent right down. Neither lead speaks with an accent–I kept a few ye’s for the secondary characters and tried to suggest the rhythm of the dialect with the use of words themselves rather. My editor, who is great, took out a few kens etc, saying that in the US they wouldn’t know what that was. This privately astonished me cos US Scottish books are sometimes very heavy on what they see as Scottish speak. But I went with her cos she knows her stuff and I respect her. Personally…and again..it is a personal thing..I don’t like any overuse of accent or dialect. You know where it’s so peppered you do NOT know what they are saying . I prefer a suggestion. The odd word, like Cat says up there in her comment. There’s bits of Wuthering Heights where brill and all as the characterisation is, I don’t understand a damned word that old servant is saying!! What is a pet peeve is where writers use words and dialect which are supposedly…say Scottish…and aren’t. And they have ladled it on too.

      • Thank you for the answer!🙂 I am considering setting my next book in Scotland, and was unsure on writing accent or not. I was leaning towards not writing accent, so I think after your advice I will stay away from it!

        Thank you again, that was great help😀

      • Mishka, if there is anything you want to run by me or ask me to check re accents or words, anything at all, PLEASE just do it. As I say I used some Ye’s instead of you’s for the secondaries and may be a few no’s instead of not’s just to give a flavour but it was a conscious decision I made despite being born and bred here to play it down cos you also have as Cat says, regional variations. And historical regional variations..ie Dundee dialect today is nothing like it was 200 years ago because of the massive Irish influx. Highland ‘speak’ has very different lilt. I tried to capture that rather. The Doric in Aberdeenshire is like a foreign lingo in some regards so….it’s a very tricky one. Down south you have a ton of regional variations too.

Leave a Reply

