Tags

, , ,

787y9999dddddcal

787y9999ddd

calu

787y9999ddd66

slep1

787y9999ddd66iii

Okay… SO here we are today at that time again, I mean, it is that time, I’ve not got mixed up and gone and double booked the author interview slot, given the way time seems to have donned skates and be flying. No. It looks okay. So today it’s my pleasure to sound the horn for  katethe lovely Kate L. Mary, not just the newbie author  of Collision but a very remarkable lady as you’ll see if you read on who I am going to be interviewing here. kiltedkilted-200kilted-29kilted3kilted37Shey… So Kate, firstly, four kids….how do you manage it?

kilted333333

kilted-200jjj

Kate. Lol. Four is a lot, I know. It takes organization and even though things fall through the cracks. I’m not sure I ever get everything done, but I manage to get the important things accomplished, so that’s a win in my book! They are pretty easy-going luckily.

Shey. Obviously wine and chocolate helps?

787y9999ddd66iii

wine an

kilted333333p

wine-an00

 

Kate. I’m a big fan of both and yes, at the end of the night when the house is finally quiet, it’s nice to have a glass of wine and some chocolate to help unwind.

Shey.  Coming over to you then pronto.  Me and several others. You’re an air force wife who met her husband at the tender…wait for it folks…..age of 12? Do spill! I mean c’mon kid! imagesPX17ZZR49

conv

kilted333333lololo

Kate. I met my husband in our church youth group when we were kids, but we didn’t start dating until right before we turned 21. Well, I take that back. We did go out once in high school, but since we went to different schools nothing ever came of it. When we finally started dating as adults we both knew marriage was in the very near future. We just celebrated our 12 year anniversary on the 22nd. kilted333333p

There have definitely been hard times, he’s a pilot in the Air Force….

Shey. Very handy for you me and the wine evening Kate…..

Kate.  so he is gone a lot.

Shey. Ok. Forget that.

Kate. But we’re still happy. He makes me laugh more than anyone else I’ve ever known, so that has to be worth something!

Shey. Awwwww. What it’s all about really. Being an Air Force wife has plainly taken you all over the US, what’s been you fav stay?

Kate. Over the last twelve years we’ve moved from Ohio to Georgia to Mississippi to South Carolina to California to Oklahoma!

imagesji34chk3555

Shey. God’s sake will you can it? Not you Kate.

Kate. Charleston.

Shey. My God, where Rhett Butler was from.

Kate. SC was by far my favorite place. wine aneee

Not only did I have amazing friends there, but the city is awesome. Great food, fun things to do, a beach within a 20 minute drive…I’d love to go back to be honest. If it were up to me, we’d retire there. Of course, my husband misses Ohio and the snow, so I’m not sure which one of us will win!

Shey.  Lol. Sure it won’t be a battle. What’s drawn you towards New Adult as a genre you’d want to write?wine aneee

Kate. I started off writing YA. The market was so flooded and it was hard to get any attention, then NA popped up and I actually felt like it fit me better. I like the age-range. I’m old (I won’t say how old),

Shey…Honey, join the club…imagesATNB7LDI9Kate. But I love that time in your life when you’re still figuring out who you are and where you belong. YA a lot of times made it hard for me to identify with the characters, but I remember very clearly what it was like to be in my early twenties. And I felt like the concerns and conflicts were more applicable. I honestly love the age-range of NA and I’m really hoping it continues to expand outside contemporary romance. That isn’t something I read often, so I’d love to see more mystery/thriller/sci-fi/dystopian.

Shey.  Have you always wanted to write?

Kate. Yes! Since I was in my early teens. But I got busy with college and getting married and having kids,

wine-an0099

and it kind of got put on the back burner. Even though I hated living in California, I’m glad we ended up there. I had a lot of free time to focus on writing and figure it all out.

Shey. Good for you. Vital as laughing! Please tell us a bit about the hero and heroine of Collision?CollisionCover-187x300

Kate. Derek, the hero, isn’t your typical NA hero. They all seem to be the same. Tough-guy, manwhore who is tattooed and has commitment phobias. My hero is adorable and sweet, a bit of a nerd. He’s a gentleman and he’s funny.

The heroine, Kara, is going through a tough time and he’s there for her. He takes care of her and helps her dig into her mom’s past. He basically drops everything to be with her. He’s the kind of guy you’d want to date in real life. Maybe he won’t be anyone’s book boyfriend (they seem to like the jerks, don’t they?), kilted-299

 

but he’s who you’d choose if they were real.

kilted-299666

Shey. What’s next for Kate L. Mary?

Kate. Broken World, the first book in my post-apocalyptic zombie series! I’m so excited about this book. Of course, I love everything I write, but this series is my favorite. I love zombies and post-apocalyptic stories, and the characters in this series are so colorful and fun to write…I can’t say enough good things about them. I’m releasing the first book on July 4th, and I’ve already had a few reviews come in from the advanced copies I sent out. I’m so happy about the warm reception it’s received. Since the first three books are already written, they’re going to come out pretty close together. The second book, Shattered World, will be out October 4, 2014, and the third book, Mad World, will come out January 3, 2015.

Shey. Kate, several aspiring, several newbie and several writer writers read this blog, any advice for the newbies and the aspirers?

Kate. Find critique partners. Not only does it help your writing, but other writers are so supportive and it helps to have others who are just as excited about your book as you are. kilted-299666

Make sure you have an online presence. I know it’s hard to fit it in, and not all of us have time to blog, but at least get yourself on Twitter and meet other authors. You’ll find out about pitch parties and other contests that way too, but mostly it will just help get your foot in the door. I had a small press almost pick up Broken World about a year ago, but I didn’t have an online presence, so they passed.

Ultimately, I’m okay with it because I think self-publishing is giving me more control, but if you want a good small press to take notice then you need to make sure you are connected.

Thanks so much for having me!

And NOO…the blurb for Collision
When eighteen-year-old Kara Jones gets into a car accident on the way home from college, she’s left with more than a few bruised ribs, a busted cell phone, and a totaled car. After a slip-up at the hospital, she’s shaken to discover that her family isn’t all it seems. And now her mother’s strange behavior and willingness to do anything to protect her secrets—including pulling Kara out of school—have Kara floundering in the dark.

Enter Derek Miller, a former classmate who’s dealing with family issues of his own. His nerdy charm is too much for Kara to resist, and she’s even more amazed when he agrees to help her dig into her mother’s past. Together they investigate her mother’s old friends and boyfriends, hoping to discover who Kara really is. Instead, they find disturbing connections to the dark history of Kent State University, and an ever expanding maze of mystery surrounding Kara’s birth.

As Kara and Derek chase secrets, she realizes he’s the only person she can trust. But as they get closer to the truth, the disturbing answers reveal a web of evil far darker and further reaching then they’d imagined, leaving Kara to wish she’d never asked the questions in the first place, and to wonder if some secrets are better left untold…