Tags

, , , , , ,

Now firstly today, I did promise a certain gentleman a pink bow.ham5454545773

 

ham54545457738So…. Yes, I know other authors host giveaways and things for their commenters but he did ask…..

 

images9

Besides Ralph does not accept awards and stuff. His blog is brill by the way.  http://bluefishway.com/ My weekly laugh.

Ok, so that’s that out the way. Hope you like it Ralpha…we come to today’s guest. OOOH, you can’t know how thrilled I am to have this lady here (it’s a secret.) No seriously, she’s a fan.imagesX57W0BCC1

 

and she’s a fan who WRITES! Fabulously too.

images9X1AYKFX8

images

hamst8squirrelhamst2444u

Goodness…I see some cages coming on here. Cages with you lot in them… However, our guest is here with her new book, so we’ll wait….

Shey. So, Felicity, Steam Bunny? imagesLTKEC7WA11

conv

Quite an unusual title. Knowing how busy these critters can get, are we talking actual rabbits here? A new take on Watership Down?

Felicity. Hi Shey. Ahhhhhhh, nope. No furries in this story.  The title’s a bit of a pun. It’s all about my heroine, Casey, dressing up all smexy-steamy in corsets and stilettos to drive her man insane with desire.

cover-final-webHere’s the blurb:

Business is all about pleasure for Casey Jackson. Helping Lucas Haskell promote his graphic novel, Steam Bunny, is an erotic dream job. Until he gives her the ultimate ultimatum; commit or leave. She doesn’t want his ring or the complications of marriage. But with a boss who knows what he wants and exactly how to get it, playing dress-up has never been so risky…or so much fun.

Shey. OOOOH! Spill a little.images7bwywuf36666

imagesv92jwg6tgg

imagesLMRLE9E71

imagesox8n2d

Felicity. Spill? Wha-? Nooooooooo! Not my coffee…damn. Naughty little hamsters. Excuse me while I find a cloth to clean-up my keyboard. *mutter mutter*

Shey. The hell with all them. Any more of their nonsense and they go back in the cages. What we really want to know is do we have a hero to drool over?

Felicity. Lucas is HOT. Not only is he good looking, he also gives as good as he gets when it comes to fighting for what he wants. And what he wants is Casey. You can find a sneak peek of Lucas and Casey on June 24th when my dear writing friend, Zara Cox’s latest release, Spiral, comes out. She’s kindly featuring the full first chapter of Steam Bunny at the back of her book.

Shey. Yay! Fabulous. She’s one steamy, best selling lady from what I hear and see.

spiral

conv

Felicity. To celebrate I’m hosting a Facebook giveaway. A random draw will be held from all the eligible entrants and one lucky winner will receive an art print of Lucas, signed by me. I’ve done a watercolour painting of him, with his blue eyes and intent stare and whooooo…that chest. sexy-guy_Painting-web

Yowza. Of course, there’s likely to be other fun draws that day for an Amazon gift card or two, so stop by my page and you could win something. To enter all you have to do is like my Felicity Kates author page on Facebook, and help me spread the word by sharing the event.

https://www.facebook.com/FelicityKatesFun

Shey. Okay, folks yah all know what to do here. 6

 

No. Not that. This is your first book. Is it the start of something?

Felicity. Okay. Steam Bunny is my debut into the publishing world. *Eeeek* But it’s the first in a series of fun, steamy, erotic novellas called Little Miss Kick-Ass.

hamst8iiiiiThey feature strong heroines who know what they want and heroes who aren’t afraid to play a bit dirty to get it. The next book in the series, which I’m currently writing, is called Fit To Be Tied. It features Casey’s BFF Astrid, and her nemesis/love interest, Race. I’m hoping to have it out by Christmas.

Shey. In this changing by the day world of publishing, you decided to self publish. Why was this?hamst8iiiii

Felicity. I had always planned to go the traditional route of signing on with a publishing house if one would have me. But after doing some heavy soul searching, lots of research, and many late night conversations with my writing gal-pals, I decided to go out on a limb, screw up my courage and jump in with both feet myself.

hamst8iiiii

We live in a very exciting time in the publishing world where there are options for getting work directly into the hands readers that didn’t exist ten years ago. I decided that for me, and my heavy work schedule, the flexibility of setting my own deadlines was the only way I could make it work as an author.

That decision comes at the expense of having the publicity and backing of an established publishing house. But at this point in my life, it seemed to make the most sense for me. Had I gone with a publisher it would have been Hearts Desire Press. They are new and seriously rock solid.HDP_Small_Banner

Shey. Yes, they look seriously good for new players on the park and are actively seeking submissions. Here’s the addy folks… http://heartsdesirepress.com/

A lot of aspiring writers read this blog Felicity. Any advice for those considering self pubbing?

Felicity. Don’t do it because it seems trendy. Don’t do it because you think you’re getting ahead by skipping the submission process with publishers and churning your stuff out faster. Do it only if after careful consideration you’ve decided it’s what’s right for you. Research what is needed. Hire a good editor. Pay for a decent cover artist. Make friends and be a good friend in return. Publishing, self or otherwise, is a business. If you want to be successful, you need to treat the process and everyone you meet with respect. This is not a job to be treated lightly.

Shey. I couldn’t agree more. What about you though? Apart from writing steamy novels that is?

Felicity. Summer is almost here. So that’s beach time and vacation from my day job.

images2LA6ORQEh

imageso

Which means more time for writing (yay!) And painting pictures, taking photos, going for hikes. Spending time with my husband and son and insane geriatric cat. All the things I love.

Shey. So what’s next for you?
Felciity. More coffee  Less hamsters.

ham144408

Shey. Any advice to give aspiring writers?
Felicity. Dream big. Work hard. Write a bit each day. Read as often as you can. Try new things. If you let it, your voice will happen all on it’s own. You aren’t JK Rowling or Nora Roberts or Stephen King. So why try to be? Listen to their advice, but you have your own story to tell. Just be you.

Thanks very much for having me on your blog today, Shehanne. It’s been great to visit with you and the hamsters.