Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

conv

What’s wif de hamsters sort of not just cowering but not waving their usual placards…..? Well, not only is SolMage and her other ego after them–enough to cause the most emancipated hamtster to quake in its claws– my PC is again sur le blink and the Flinstonian artefact has been booted back into service. DO not ask me how to use photo edit. I think this artifact was invented before cameras. Oh not quite but…

However, this historical aspect to my present life, where it takes an hour for a webpage to load,  is just what is needed to welcome today’s lovely guest. Yes. Historical writer–oh and contemporary–Lindsay Townsend. Excuse me while I nip off for 30 mins to upload a  picture of her.    conv  Did I say 30? You know Lindsay is just hot off the trail to York …oooh a favorite place of mine….where she was doing some research. I think she could have done it again, the time it’s taken to get that pic. That’s why I must be NUTZ to show this.conv1

 

conv

YORK…did I tell you how Mount Grace Priory provided some of the inspiration for Lazuli? No. But I will another time.

Today I’m going to tell you how, like my last guest, the lovely Kate Furnivall,  Lindsay has written more books than I can safely name. She’s been publised by an impressuve list including
Ellora’s Cave  Kensington MuseItUp and her books are also available everywhere you care to name.
Kensington website coverSIMEXY huh? Lindsay…first of all.. is there any publisher you haven’t worked with?

LINDSAY .  Lots and lots! I’ve not yet worked for Avon or Harlequin. I’d love to work with either or both of those. How about you, Shey?

SHEY. Oh, I’m a fledgie. Happy to work. But Avon…hmmm. A girl can dream.   conv

A hamster can too. There’s such a question of fit. Lindz, I’m a history girl, which is why I’m knocking myself out at having you here today–

conv

…….just fabulous to meet another history girl.  You also write contemporary under the same name. How do you find that works?

LINDSAY.  I love writing about characters under stress, especially ‘normal’ characters who have to do extraordinary things in order to win through and survive. History gives writers a wonderful chance to put characters in very dangerous, stressful situations. So, I find, do thrillers. So I write mainly historical romance and some romantic thrillers, both my action and adventure and romance.

lt-palacefountains

SHEY.  Are you going to spill secrets on which genre you prefer?

LINDSAY.  Do I have to choose?

SHEY. Have you seen this……conv

 

Heavens Linz you don’t think I am nice to my guests to you? We also have avery nice chair Faith Ashlinn sat in once and never recovered from.

LINDSAY. Errr…. my hubby will tell you I hate having to make a choice… the dithering will go on for a while!  Honestly, I love both genres and often blend the two in my writing, so that there’s a mystery in ‘Flavia’s Secret’flavia1 What’s she done and….er….. why is it dangerous?

SHEY. Oh, it’s all right Lindsay. I’m not going to do anything. Of cousre I don’t speak for the hamsters….conv

LINDSAY. There’s a historical mystery in my romantic thriller, ‘Palace of the Fountains’ (Why is a sword called the Moon Lily so important?)

SHEY.  Hmmm.Oh…okay…We’ll let you off. Provided you tell us….within the historical genre do you have a favourite time period? And why?

LINDSAY . I love the Crusades! I love the blend of motives, the spiritual and the very mundane, that attracted people to go on crusade. I studied the Crusades at university as a special subject. I love all the medieval period – it was such a crucial time, when many nation states were born. conv

SHEY. Oh my, Lindz, you have surpassed yourself with that answer! I’ve a sprawling epic of an oldie I mean to dig out and revamp now I have an idea for the focus. What fascinated me was that it started out with these ‘pilgrims’ and was marked by savagery and insanity. Is there any other period of history that you find enthralling?

LINDSAY.  I also enjoy the ancient world – ancient Greece, Italy, Britain, Egypt, China, India. Really, I can be drawn in by any historical period. I find the research so interesting and the differences between then and now so intriguing.

SHEY . Do you have a heroine and hero it’s been hard to let go of?lt-thesnowbride

LINDSAY. All of them! But especially my ‘Beauty and Beast’ pair of Elfrida and Magnus. Elfrida is a medieval witch and Magnus a knight who has been knocked about and wounded in the crusades. I found they kept ‘talking’ to me even after I’d finished writing about them in ‘The Snow Bride’ so I wrote a sequel, ‘A Summer Bewitchment’.

SHEY.  Do you know I abso love that  title, The Snow Bride and your tagline about beauty and beast  too?  Oh and the title — Dark Maiden. Both convey the book at a glance. What’s your title coining process?darkmaiden_msr

LINDSAY. Thank you! Sometimes I find titles come easily – it did with The Snow Bride. And with Dark Maiden I had a mental picture of Yolande, my exorcist heroine, and wanted to create a title that captured part of her. I jot down images and themes of my stories and try to conceive a title that will incorporate them. I also try to give a strong visual sense, for the cover artist.

SHEY. Lindsay I know a lot about your books but what about you? That’s harder to come by. Can you tell us a bit?

LINDSAY. I’m married to a wonderful man. I live and work in England, in Yorkshire. I like walking, the countryside, gardening, reading and music.

SHEY.  Yorkshire? OMG! I knew I did well meeting a history gal! Yes! FOlks Yorkshire is an amazing place. From the Dales…conv

to the abbeys

conv1

 

to the villages

conv

 

to the moors

conv

So got a mention of a village in my present. WIP Have you always wanted to be a writer?

LINDSAY. From when I was eleven, when a Classics tutor said I could write and should think about it as a career when I was older.

SHEY.  Lol. I had a Classics teacher too but thta’ not what he said to me. What’s next for Lindsay Townsend?

LINDSAY.  A Medieval whodunit, the third part of my Widow of Bath series.An Older Evil 333x500

SHEY. OOOH. Can’t wait. There’s something about that period sure enough. Lastly a lot of very talented aspiring writers read this blog. Do you have any advice for them?

LINDSAY. Read widely, fiction and non-fiction, all kinds of genres. See how a fellow writer draws a reader in with the first line, the first chapter, how a fellow writer creates tension and cliff-hangers, how a fellow writer uses dialogue. Write what inspires you, what you love. Don’t worry at the start about markets — write so that you become used to writing and develop your own unique voice. Polish throughout and set your completed work aside, if only for a day or two, before reading through it again and editing it carefully. Look for plot holes, dropped threads, characters who perhaps act so wildly out of character it’s impossible, and change those. Have fun! Also, if it works for you, join a writing group. (You don’t have to, but if you find the support useful, then do so.) When it comes to sending work out, research your publishers carefully, send your most polished work and be patient. (I know that one is hard!)

Good luck.

Thanks again, Shey, for such a wonderful interview and such interesting questions!

Lindsay

SHEY. My absolute pleasure to see you here today Linds and thank you for sharing both your wonderful work AND your tips. Lindsay can be found here folks. Pay her a visit. I swear she is worth it. From here you can visit ALL her amazing sites.

www.lindsaytownsend.net/

https://twitter.com/lindsayromantic

thelordandeleanor_msr

Their love breaks all bounds. Richard is lord of Wykeford—and Eleanor’s lord. She is a former bondswoman, now free. When they meet, their lives change forever as a love that can’t be denied burns between them. She is strong and fierce. He is a gentle warrior. Together, they fight for their future against all odds.But there is one in the lord’s household who’s not pleased and who will stop at nothing to break Richard and Eleanor apart, even at the cost of murder.

Her books are available from here to name a few!