Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

conv21

‘Wha’s like us—damn few and they’re all deid.’ as we say here in Scotland. In keeping with my little Scottish theme, I had planned on having this post up on Tuesday but as Rabbie

conv

YOU CAN TELL I LIKE THE SPECS.

himself would have said, the best laid schemes o’ mice and men etc, etc, etc, went so far a gley. Don’t you just love it when your PC gets kow-powed by an update? As I sat biting me nails wondering if my data had indeed been swiped, I managed to cobble together a sort of Frankensteinian affair.

convI don’t know who was more surprised that it  ground to life.  I won’t say it went. I don’t regard taking 10 mins to open an email as an accomplishment

Feeling it is  preferable to shove bamboo shoots beneath ones fingernails either. Although when it flagged up it had recovered from a serious malfunction after I kicked it defo showed it had some sense. It is called booting your PC I believe. Preferably in its steel goolies.

Anyway Scots’ literary giants. Wha’s like us? Plenty. Every country has its giants.

conv

conv

Oh yes…

But I’m suggesting  that maybe that’s the toast those in the main picture would drink to one another. Unless of course they were —conv For a small nation, let’s look at just what these Scots’ literary gents gave the world.

Let’s start with Rabbie, Scotland’s ploughboy poet. Do you know he even inspired my top commenter  Ranting Crow to write this for a sort of joke?

But the all deid bit is.A silver tongue and matching looks
had farmers boy write poetry books
a coin for his addiction he crave
left him dead and poor in his grave
not a single day he lived alone
When thousand visited his resting stone

 Who hasn’t heard of Auld Lang Syne, or Tam O’Shanter?

conv

And all right, Burns wrote in Scots. but let’s not forget his

‘But pleasures are like poppies spread You seize the flower, its bloom is shed. And like a snowflake in the river One moment here, and then gone forever…….Or like the rainbow’s lovely form. Evanishing amid the storm.’

And let’s not forget  the er …haggis evenings. Burns Night. convI mean there are those who like haggis…..

Moving swiftly on to our next giant, there’s J.M. As in Barrie……1st Baronet. conv Tinkerbelle, Peter Pan, oh and of course that amazing pirate, Captain Hook.

The son of handloom weavers, Barrie hailed from Kirriemuir in the Angus glens.conv

I know a descendant on his mother’s side. The guy’s first name…Barrie, spelt a la J.M..

Talking literary pirates let’s move to another famous one…conv

 Long John Silver, creation of Robert Louis Stevenson who ranks amongst the 26 most translated authors in the world and someone  who  “seemed to pick the right word up on the point of his pen, like a man playing spillikins’ according to G.K Chesterton. Robert Louis also gave us —convTalking world famous characters, let’s move to another author, another creation….conv
conv

conv

Many faces, one creation. Sherlock Holmes, all the work of  the Edinburgh born Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Not telling you who my fav Sherlock is. There’s ones I haven’t even included.

Next up….Sir Walt. My lord, another baronet. I have to say I am not a big fan of Sir Walt and yeah it peed me off big time that Ivanhoe married Rowena.

conv

(A visit to specsavers was in order)

But Scott’s place on the world’s stage is still assured with that story.

conv

Now this one above IS a fav mine even if Grassic Gibbon might not rank with the A listers. He still made his mark with his stream-of-consciousness and lyrical use of dialect and the book is considered one of the most important Scottish novels of last century. The pity was he died young.conv

Gibbon’s took his inspiration from another fav of mine, George Douglas  Brown, an illegitimate farmer’s son, who died even younger. Unfortunately it was the year before the release of his classic story, The House With The Green Shutters, a book that broke the kail-yard stereotype.   A sort of grand gothic affair almost in terms of a family and what can befall them against the backdrop of Barbie…oh not the doll, the fictional place. It’s well worth reading if you don’t know it.

I’m sticking here for today. I still have my films to get to next and a load more stuff to install on my revitalised PC.

,