Tags

, , ,

chhhh 010

Just when you thought it was safe to come back on here, I have one more advent calendar post to go. I hope you all enjoyed Christmas. The lengths I had to go to after that naughty blog hop with Anne Lange to get Santa to stop at my door were pretty extreme however.

yuck

They included whipping up a storm to blow a tree down just outside. Do you know people put little bits of tinsel on it as Christmas Day went on? Some even stood about forming little deputations in the hope some others of us would perhaps, in true Brit/grit spirit, assist in moving it so that one of the only two roads through the village was open?

Naturally Mr Shey in true Brit-grit Christmas tradition told them where to put themselves.  Are there no workmen, he asked prior to shutting the door and stuffing himself with even more Christmas pud at our awfie fantoosh dining table.

chhhh 024

Daring to wish? Well, anyone daring to wish we were going to break our backs on December 25th, had a big ungranted wish coming. Anyway, I have one post sitting here. It’s from the remarkably stalwart Tracey Rogers and it’s sat here so long, she’s had another book out in the meantime. conv

Anyway, we authors know there’s no such thing as late publicity, any more than there is any such thing as bad publicity. AND after all, the really fabulous thing here for Tracey is that she has had two books out virtually back to back.

It’s almost New Year now and that’s a time when we do make not just resolutions but we make wishes too about what the next year may bring us.

So, without further delay….

Let’s have the drummers drumming again.yo 008

And let’s here it for the lovely

Tracey Rogers

and her first release

  Daring To Wish

Thank you for inviting me here Shehanne.

comv

                  (Naturally Tracey agreed to the hat. IT’s Christmas still in’it? Look, last time she agreed to Brad Pit!)

Shey. Tracey you’ve been here before–lucky you– and described a little of your journey, you describe yourself as a writer, reader, dreamer. Can we take it words mean a lot to you and you don’t like Sudoku then?

Tracey. Sudoku? LOL. Never met him. But if he has anything to do with numbers then no I won’t like him at all. Words are amazing, they can mean different things to different people and take you on a journey.

Shey. Of course not all readers are writers although I don’t know how well that works the other way round, when you first put pen to paper did you think about being a published writer?

Tracey. I think when I was about eight I imagined that authors lived in castles or stately homes.conv

                           (preferably with Brad Pitt. Sorry I will start being good now. it is my resolution.)

So although I dreamed of being an author then, I knew it was just a dream. Grown up me in all honesty, that didn’t happen until I typed The End on Daring to Wish. That was when I decided to try to become published.

Shey.  But before this way back you were a lithographer with the pottery industry? Kind of the thing you do before you become a writer…not!

convWhat did this involve? Not images of Brad Pitt I hope?conv

Tracey. Lithographing is decorating pottery ware by manipulating transfers onto pottery using a squeegee and craft blades. I used to decorate the dinner ware usually only bought out to use at Christmas that’s too expensive for children to touch.

convAnd actually that job was a great opportunity to think up new story ideas. The work was all hand eye coordination so I could often drift off into my own little world. Also working in a factory with lots of other people – loads of potential writing material. There was lots of laughter and sometimes tears shared at that place, and some stories that would make Jeremy Kyle blush!

Shey.  Again I am saying nothing. You write romance, what drew you to that genre as a writer?

Tracey. I used to watch lots of old movies with my grandparents, heaps of romance in those, so I think that might have something to do with it. Then I used to read my nana’s books so lots of Catherine Cookson, Danielle Steel, Carole Mortimer and Penny Jordan. conv

Then I discovered Vicki Lewis Thompson and Gina Wilkins in my teens, so less about swooning and more romance with fun. Now I have too many faves to mention as my reading taste has expanded. I still want romance in my books though. Love adds conflict and makes people do the craziest things. Even J.R. Ward’s tough guy Brother’s can be brought to their knees by love. And don’t we all need something to fight for?

Shey.  Abso. I personally don’t take kindly to the swooning stuff. So now you have  books out yourself, how hard a journey was that towards publication?

Daring_to_Wish_Medium

Tracey. That wasn’t a hard journey at all really because I wrote for pleasure without thinking of publication until it was complete. I had the rejection experience but decided to try elsewhere and thankfully it all worked out and I got my happily ever after! conv

Shey. YAY! That is what we all like to hear here.

Tracey.  Book two however, that’s a different story.

Shey, Yip tell us about it!

Tracey. That’s writing with expectation at the back of your mind and a whole lot of doubt. Once you get past the author/publisher special speak code…

conv(There must be a translation book out there somewhere) and you embrace the learning curve of edits, promo and the whole process of publication it’s a journey to enjoy. Of course it’s easier with a fab group of writer friends there to offer support.

Shey So Daring To Wish, what’s the one line pitch?

Tracey. What happens when you dare to wish?

Shey. Where did the idea come from?

Tracey. It all came from one of those ‘what if’ thoughts. When you think how your life could be completely different if you made one decision change in your past. So then I thought what if somebody actually did that? What if somebody stepped out of their comfort zone and made changes in their life and had fun doing it?

Shey. Can you spill a little about what it’s about?

Tracey. Shy Eve Ward writes a daring ‘before I’m thirty’ wish list intended for her eyes only.

convWhen she meets a sexy stranger perfect for one of those wishes she starts to earn even more ticks on her list. Lucas is a bad boy trying to be good, but when he sees Eve’s list he decides being good can wait. Eve is gaining confidence and having the time of her life. It all seems too good to be true –Is it? And are those ticks what she really needs?

Shey. You write contemporary but like paranormal. Any plans to write a paranormal?

Tracey. I just might be dipping my pen into paranormal. I have an idea for a story that I want to write for fun—then who knows?

Thank you so much for having me on your blog today! So pleased to be sharing Daring to Wish with you.

Shey. Trace, it was a pleasure. Sorry for the delay!

Blurb

What happens when you dare to wish?

In an effort to regain her independence and break out of her shell, shy Eve Ward writes a daring wish list of all the things she wants to do before her thirtieth birthday. It’s a good thing the list is for her eyes only, because some of the items are pretty risqué.

Adrenaline junkie Lucas Riley becomes Eve’s “victim” in a kiss-a-stranger dare, and she thinks he’s perfect for her one-night-with-a-stranger wish.

With Eve, Lucas thinks he’s found the distraction he needs before he has to say goodbye to his bad boy image. When he finds Eve’s sexy wish list, he can’t keep himself from giving into temptation and sneaking a peek, and wish number eight is impossible for him to resist. Being good can wait.

Eve is thrilled when, out of the blue, Lucas offers to take her skydiving. Her sexy stranger has helped her tick so many wishes off her secret list. Her confidence has grown and now she’s having fun both in and out of the bedroom. It seems too good to be true…is it? She can’t shake the niggling suspicion that something’s not quite right.

Content Warning: contains dizzying heights and sensual sex

Genre(s): Contemporary Romance

Beachwalk Press Buy Link

Amazon.com

Amazon.co.uk

Barnes and Noble

Excerpt

“Wait.”

Eve froze mid-turn, halted by his husky command and the tingle radiating from his hand lightly grasping her wrist. She met his gaze and realized how wrong she’d been. He was a million miles away from being uncomplicated. The startling blue of his eyes revealed depths Eve could only imagine drowning in.

“Did you say…nice?” He leaned closer. “I would say that was a lot better than nice. I’m sure if we tried again we could manage spectacular. Don’t you agree?” he drawled.

Maybe nice had been the wrong word to choose Eve relented as she noted his husky tone. It was infinitely better than nice. Try amazing! Her breath hitched as she thought of his kiss again. Knowing he enjoyed it too sent a surge of pleasure through her that settled deep within her belly. Obviously she could do some things right.

If she intended to fulfill her wishes she was going to have to find some confidence from somewhere—and fast! At the moment her confidence seemed to be firmly in the area of her knickers.

Running and hiding now seemed out of the question. Maybe confidence practice would be the lesser of two evils? She paused before turning to face Mr. Hotness for confidence lesson one.

“Hmm…” She pretended to consider. “Maybe you’re right. However, as this was a dare I’m afraid it was a one time opportunity,” she added with mock apology. “So I guess we’ll never know.”

“You kissed me for a dare?” His brow arched.

Eve nodded. “Uh-huh. My dare was to kiss a stranger.”

“A dare, huh? I feel so…so violated.” He clutched his free hand to his chest in feigned hurt, although his eyes brimmed with humor and a smile tugged at the corner of his delicious mouth.

“Don’t be offended. I did actually choose you,” she blurted before forgetting her cool, calm, and confident aim.

“So you really thought you could violate me then run?”

“That was my plan, yes,” she said with a confidence she didn’t quite feel, especially as she was distracted by the thumb lightly stroking her wrist.

“And I didn’t even try to play hard to get. Guess you got lucky.”

“Or maybe you did,” she countered without thought, mortified as a blush warmed her cheeks at his responding grin.

He grinned, releasing her hand. “Tell me. Do you like to be dared?”

Her eyes widened at the loaded question. “I…I find a challenge hard to resist.”

“Damn good thing I’m a challenge.”

Author Bio…Tracey Rogers.

A devourer of books from an early age, I spent much of my childhood stepping into wardrobes, searching for that magical snowy world where conversing with animals would be expected. When I wasn’t searching for those worlds, I wrote about them instead. My first step into the world of romance was when I stole sneak peeks into my nana’s books. I’m still in that world and refuse to leave.

I live in Staffordshire, UK, with my husband and three wonderful children. An avid reader and writer of romance, I strongly believe that words make the world go around.

You can find me here: http://traceyrogers.wordpress.com/
On twitter: https://twitter.com/TraceRbookworm
Or email me at: traceyrogersaut@gmail.com

Or visit my author page here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Tracey-Rogers-Author/197643867052117