Tags

, , , , , , ,

conv

Okay, so Piglet is now called Joanne? Hey, if I’d put Shehanne there you’d never have believed me. No, today I want you to meet Joanne…

joanneOtherwise known as J.M. Stewart, author of some pretty good sweet and spicy books. It’s now a whole year since I first subbed Lady Fury to Etopia and I can’t believe how much my life has changed, even if I was a bit like this the other week…..crying  Lady Fury is out and my second book is about to be released. Hope you are all following the Hottie Scot giveaway being hosted on my behalf  by the fabulous Noelle Clark  wannnnn

over on her blog http://www.noelleclarkauthor.com/2013/07/a-letter-from-black-wolf-of-lochalpin.html Of course Noelle does not guarantee you are going to win a Wolf but she does have amazon vouchers and you get anything there…right?

One of the things that is different is the amount of Social Media I undertook which proved to me, especially in the early days, dodos aren’t actually extinct at all. During that time I came across this book jacket by another Etopian……

conv

i thought how cool, how sophisticated is this J.M.  Swamming out there… Ooh this will be me soon.  I had no idea the irony is that J.M Stewart has a problem. A big one when authors these days are expected to put themselves out there, build the following, do the blogs, interact with other authors, bloggers, sounding like a cool cat.

The lovely lady is shy.  I’m not talking a little bit of toeing of the ground there till I get the hang of this gathering.

joanneI’m talking wishing the ground would zip open so I can say Bye to everyone before they notice…… me.  conv

To quote Joanne I’m talking,

‘It’s trying to escape my body by way of my mouth kind of shy. My palms grow cold and clammy, my hands shake. Hell, who am I kidding? My everything shakes. When confronted with new people, my brain and my mouth seize up.’

Joanne actually did a blog but there’s a problem with getting into my mail box right now. I need this post up un terms of my own schedule this week.  Besides the good lady has already waited. So I’m cobbling big time from a blog where she spilt the beans. Plus showing you some of her fabulous covers.

convNice eh?

Putting ourselves out there as authors, aspiring authors or bloggers is never easy. Often a complete novice, a dodo, where blogging is concerned, you’re trying to hit a mark, somewhere between sounding knowledgeable, having good content and praying you won’t bore the pants off someone and just maybe you can make that someone come back. When you feel like this…….

‘As an author, putting myself out there is terrifying. I’m not eloquent by any means. In fact, I stumble and stammer and say all the wrong things. Usually at the wrong time.’

It’s also worse when all the blogging advice is to get your mates to come by your blog and like you and leave a comment when you’re…..

‘not that person who collects friends. You know, those people who seem to make friends wherever they go and always seem to have dozens?’

Personally, if there is one thing the last year has taught me, in addition to knowing exactly who my friends are and valuing them,  it’s of the importance of making new author/blogger ones. Ones who this last week, or so, came straight to my assistance, no questions asked. Noelle, Anne, Incy, Aimee, Susan, Antonia, Alison/Eleanor.  Blogs, interviews….(Anne’s is here by the way…it’s hot!  She didn’t behave. You would know that http://t.co/EEPRC96tsS )

 But anyway, for someone like Joanne, this is hard. It’s important to know though, if maybe you are the shy author, aspiring or, in print, maybe Joanne sounds familiar to you and even if she doesn’t this biz of putting yourself out there, is terrifying…is

conv

as opposed to

conv

If Joanne can you can. She has this fabulous advice to give,,,,

I started small, took one step outside of my box and stayed there until I was comfortable being there. And then I take another step. I started doing one blog topic here and there. Interviews are super easy. I don’t have to think. Then I added things like tooting my own horn on Facebook or my author blogs.  Now, I’m a member of two group blogs (okay, so one isn’t all that busy). My natural inclination was to back out quietly, but I force myself, so that once a month or so I’m forced to, oh, I don’t know, actually interact with people. Because I’m perfectly comfortable being a hermit.

She also has the book jackets to prove it.joanne

The Blurbs. Recently divorced and working two jobs, Angela Lewis has no room in her life for love. Yet when her childhood crush finds her at the nightclub where she works as the sexy stripper, Candy Cane, and expresses his interest, Angela can’t resist. She only wants one night to live the fantasy her alter ego provides.
Alex McKinley is still trying to pick up the pieces of his shattered life, and one night with Candy is exactly what he needs. He gets more than he bargained for, however, when he discovers she’s the little sister of his best friend.  Suddenly little Angie’s all grown up and driving him crazy.
The more time he spends with Angela, the more Alex finds himself falling for the woman she’s become. She makes him want to live again. But can he convince her to take a chance on him?
The buy links And Amazon best seller status for Her Knight In Black leather to prove it!  .
Oh And the blog! Where you can see more and how to connect with Joanne.  http://jm-stewart.blogspot.co.uk/p/books_2.html#sthash.19eB5S9L.dpuf