Tags

, , , , , , ,

Now I know what I promised…that little post on ships and pirates. But, having offered one post by way of reparation,  you cannot expect me offer two in a row, or be responsible for what my creations get up to behind my back..as reported on their own blog.  newspaper          It is quite enough being responsible for myself, although I will, I swear  sensibly blog local ships and pirates next time. Look…once again, to prove it, Dundee pirate, Captain Kydd.capt_kidd

coming soon to this blog.

Starting out with Sharon Struth and her lovely creation, Polly Positive,

cryingwe’ve had a season of authors, some on the hot seat, some talking about rejection, some even sending along their garden gnome to be interviewed. What better way to end that season than by introducing a debut author on their very first guest blog?

Tracey Rogers, ladies and gentlemen. conv

                   A very special lady, talking honestly today about the perils, the pitfalls and the joy of finally getting there with her soon to be released book, aptly titled, Daring To Wish.

                   Save me from daytime TV! by Tracey Rogers

First of all hello Shehanne and thank you so much for inviting me here to tell you my reasons for writing Daring to Wish.

Does save me from daytime TV sound too dramatic? conv

Maybe it does, but that was the reason I decided to start reason and how the concept for Daring to Wish came about. Everyone needs a reason to write. For some it’s the desire to be published and for others it’s for the pleasure of being creative. For me it was pleasure and illness. No, no don’t get the violins out, this is a positive post!

po

In my final year of studying I had to withdraw. A flare up of an existing lung condition had me sitting on my bum in front of the TV waiting to get better. It never happened. Eventually I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, a pain and fatigue syndrome. I was a quitter! This frustrated me big time. After all I’d worked since the day I left school and hoped to set an example to my children that if you work hard then you can achieve.

Sitting with the remote in my hand watching people air their dirty laundry in public wasn’t doing it for me. Do I really need to know that you were abducted by aliens and are now having an alien baby?alien bab

Bikini body in two weeks?

convvv

Would never happen. So off went the TV. Being active wasn’t an option, so what could I do? Read and think. I read and read and read. And often my thoughts strayed to those ‘what if’ scenarios. What if I’d studied straight after school? What if I’d bumped into Brad Pitt and he’d swept me off my feet?

pppppppppp

But the truth is I wouldn’t want my life any different, or I wouldn’t have become the person I am now, or had the family I have now, or met the wonderful people that I have. The good and the bad shape who we are. So I started to think of the future. What would I like to do? And so came the idea of the wish list. Although Eve’s is much more exciting than mine!

One of my wishes was to write. This I could do. I have an imprint of my bum on the sofa to prove this is possible. And after reading so many books I had got my inspiration back. I used to write all of the time until family life and work made it impossible. So I now think of Daring to Wish as my rescue book. It made me happy. It gave me purpose. Made me rediscover my love for writing and introduced me to the very fabulous writing community out there. Getting a contract is the icing on a huge fat cake.

conv

(Not made by Shehanne)

And if my book makes one person smile, or forget reality for even the shortest of moments, then that’s a huge tick on my list. Now to learn to play the piano and learn another language (also will never happen). As for Brad Pitt, well you have to dream don’t you?

To anyone out there who is thinking of writing, think of your reasons for writing and DO IT! You might find that life isn’t so bad after all

…………….SO there we go ladies and gentlemen. It has been a huge pleasure to host Tracey here today AND her fabulous cover too. Daring_to_Wish_Medium

Daring to Wish Blurb
What happens when you dare to wish?

In an effort to regain her independence and break out of her shell, shy Eve Ward writes a daring wish list of all the things she wants to do before her thirtieth birthday. It’s a good thing the list is for her eyes only, because some of the items are pretty risqué.

Adrenaline junkie Lucas Riley becomes Eve’s “victim” in a kiss-a-stranger dare, and she thinks he’s perfect for her one-night-with-a-stranger wish.

With Eve, Lucas thinks he’s found the distraction he needs before he has to say goodbye to his bad boy image. When he finds Eve’s sexy wish list, he can’t keep himself from giving into temptation and sneaking a peek, and wish number eight is impossible for him to resist. Being good can wait.

Eve is thrilled when, out of the blue, Lucas offers to take her skydiving. Her sexy stranger has helped her tick so many wishes off her secret list. Her confidence has grown and now she’s having fun both in and out of the bedroom. It seems too good to be true…is it? She can’t shake the niggling suspicion that something’s not quite right.

Content Warning: contains dizzying heights and sensual sex

Genre(s): Contemporary Romance

Author Bio
A devourer of books from an early age, Tracey  spent much of her childhood stepping into wardrobes, searching for that magical snowy world where conversing with animals would be expected. When she wasn’t searching for those worlds, she wrote about them instead. Her first step into the world of romance was when she stole sneak peeks into hernana’s books. I’m still in that world and refuse to leave. Tracey  lives in Staffordshire, UK, with her husband and three wonderful children. An avid reader and writer of romance, she  strongly believes that words make the world go around.
You can find Tracey here:

http://traceyrogers.wordpress.com/
On twitter: https://twitter.com/TraceRbookworm
Or email her at: traceyrogersaut@gmail.com
Or visit her author page here: Facebook