Tags

, , ,

Firstly I do want to apologize about yesterday and say that of course Noelle and Abbie are the very best of friends as you can see of this latest picture of Noelle here, released late last night after she too was released from hospital,

16008774-person-wrapped-in-bandages-with-head-trauma-giving-rude-gesture-in-a-depiction-of-a-impatient-medica

and that the tarantula which somehow-by mistake-wound up on Abbie’s t-shirt was a plastic one.

Today, in my bid to help and support fellow authors, I have invited along Steve Emmett. It is my great pleasure to do so. I love being able to introduce fresh blood to the blog, although maybe, in the context of what Steve writes that is perhaps not the right word to use.

RBP18010_SteveEmmett_027

Steve-pictured above- is here today with Tom Lupton, the hero of Diavolino, product description…..paradise is just one step from hell….. to explain to him just why he should be in the book.

Tom. Firstly Steve, before we even start, a dream home, a private island, there has to be some sort of catch, right? I mean, living miserable existences yourselves, you authors are never so generous. This is…well, let’s say I am speechless. You want me to live here?

Italy30H

Steve: Well, that’s a nice way to start a relationship! Miserable existence? I’ll have you know I’m as happy as a pig in…you know…and as for being ungenerous, that is libelous. Ask anyone who knows me and they will tell you I have a big heart and am far from a skinflint. In my experience it’s always the stars in the limelight, the big earners, who have short arms and deep pockets. Just because I’ve conjured up a fabulous house in a dream location you automatically assume there’s a catch. Well, there isn’t. Not really. Not unless you think having a gateway to Hell on your doorstep is a drawback. As if!

Tom. Okay. Okay. So I got a touch of the primadonnas. And I do like the look of this place.  Can I just whisper this though? See Steve, I have a big problem with this business of the island. I get sea-sick…. On dry land.

sick

Steve: Erm, there is no sea. This island is in a lake. A shallow lake. Most of the time it’s like a millpond. Okay, I know there’s a storm in the book but that’s all the fault of evil old Monsignor Clavelli. You don’t believe me, do you? What? Because I said the waters are unpredictable? Look, the whole point of good fiction is that the reader is able to suspend disbelief. What you’re proving is that I’m maybe a good writer – so thanks!

Tom. Okay. I am welcome on this island? It’s a nice place? The kind you want a holiday home on?

Steve: You’re welcome as far as I’m concerned but it’s not me you need to worry about.To call it a nice place is to do it an injustice; it’s magical and mysterious, alive with flora and fauna, steeped in history. If you want a holiday home in beautiful and peaceful surroundings I can think of few better places. sick

Yes, there are a few mosquitoes in the summer but I wouldn’t worry – they pale into insignificance compared with the other beasties that will be after your blood.

Tom.  But there’s this time thing business. 1545 1546. You want me in your book but don’t. I am in this book on every page amn’t I?

Steve: What are you on about? I want you in but I don’t? The book begins in 1545 and then moves to the present day (well, thereabouts). No one is on every page. No one. If being on 75% of them isn’t enough for your obviously huge ego then maybe we’d all be better off without you. See if I care! I can call on forces that you haven’t even dreamed of.

Tom. So like that business yesterday with that poor Abbie girl, bribery doesn’t work so you’re threatening me with spiders, right? Here’s asurprise for you. I like spiders.

Steve: Spiders? Who says anything about spiders? I will send the hounds of Hell after you and they will tear your body apart morsel by morsel. When they have had their fill they’ll drag your soul back to where they came from. Now, what’s it to be?….Tom? …Tom?

Shehanne :(in a deep masculine voice )  Of course I will be in your book Steve. Never mind that door slamming there. Thank you so much for asking me.

……………………It only remains for me to thank Steve and Tom for coming by today, to ask Steve to get these bloody dogs out of here.

sick

Tomorrow’s guest- another genre, and another gentleman–is Peter Romilly. Of course Tom agreed as you can see.

diavolino_200-300_300dpi1Paradise is just one step from Hell.

The chance to build a dream home on a private island in Italy’s most beautiful lake offers architect Tom Lupton the fresh start he’s been yearning for. But when he arrives with his family on Diavolino, he finds the terrified locals dead set against his arrival. The island, whose very existence has been shrouded in secrecy for half a millennium, has a dark history that no one cares to remember, and as their opposition to Tom grows, so grows a brooding evil that will lead them to the very doors of hell…

You can buy Diavolino from Etopia Press-paperback or E book kindle

Diavolino: Steve Emmett: 9781936751945: Amazon.com: Books

http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=diavolino+at+amazon.co&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CC8QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.amazon.co.uk%2Fdp%2FB004NIFIC0&ei=gLW5UeGGOaiQ0QWl4oHYCA&usg=AFQjCNFcJ_PXKrgizHjqIa5ALMyu4rt1_Q

British author Steve grew up on Dennis Wheatley novels and Hammer Horror films, and on many occasions started to put pen to paper. He is influenced by the writing of John Ajvide Lindqvist, Stephen King, M R James, Anne Rice and Joanne Harris (and one or two others), but he has his own distinctive style. Steve is an avid reader of horror and suspense, and works as an occasional reviewer for the New York Journal of Books. Steve was born in Harrogate. He can be found here.

http://steveemmett.com/

http://chukkienator.blogspot.com/

https://twitter.com/chukkie58