Tags

, , ,

Well why not, after that last blog about not getting published. You want to see her again, don’t you? Not Greeting Teenie….Mamzelle Positive. crying

So there she is. Twinkling nicely. AND the lovely lady at Book Reviews and Peeks  http://t.co/l61P8g0nEu safe_image

She gave Fury a lovely page there, which I thought I’d say….just to improve your day.

Okay… gonna behave now. I mean we have another guest today and we don’t want  hissy fits. The last post was very popular though, I am going to do more on publishing. Polly Positive can be the guide.

Today’s guest is the fabulous Jerrie Alexander, dark, gritty and emotionally-packed suspense author–a closet writer in her youth.

Jerrie_Alexander_Small

Jerrie  is another one you can take inspiration from because she set that dream aside for family and career. But now she’s back at it and how. What is more–stop flash–her very latest book has just released early…as I write this. Yes!  Someone To Watch Over Me, can be found on Amazon. Here’s a quick update.

SomeoneToWatchOverMe_w7668_750-125x188

Jerrie is joining me today all the way from Texas. And, while my last guest may have brought Polly, Jerrie has brought the sunshine finally this year to Scotland. What’s more she’s going to let me join her mid week. SO without further ado…. cue the scary music that accompanies Jerrie’s scary, scary story…. I am already quaking in my stilettos here. Do you know she says she likes to torture people????!

Shey. Okay Jerrie, A woman hiding her past. A Texas sheriff who ignites a flame she thought lost forever. A killer who paints his victims to look like porcelain dolls. Putting the killer aside, how much of you is in the rest of the description?

Jerrie. Shehanne, first let me say, thank you for having me as your guest. To be honest, I don’t see any of myself in my characters. They have incredible inner strength and determination to overcome the obstacles I put in front of them. I hope I would have that kind of perseverance if ever faced with the kind of situations my hero and heroine have to struggle through to survive. But I also hope I’m never faced with those kinds of problems.

TheGreenEyesDoll_New-125x188

Shey. Of course The Green-Eyed Doll was your first release, let’s talk about your new book, The Last Execution.

Jerrie. Love to! My heroine, a Atlanta homicide detective, made a life altering decision seven years earlier. She’s on a special task force, working with an FBI agent to stop a vigilante, when a man she sent to prison is released. He’s seeking revenge. She faces a moral dilemma when she realizes the vigilante may kill him.

Shey. Ooh. I’m  certainly not going to twist your arm Jerrie, to ask about the outcome, not when you write scary stuff like this. But sounds plenty intriguing.  I hear you were a great traveller when you were younger.  And you like to look at the sights.surfer

The surf right?  What’s your favorite visit place? And your favorite place just to be?

Jerrie. I still love to travel! For the past seven years, I’ve taken my daughter and granddaughter on a girls trip. We pick a different place each year to snorkel. My favorite of all the places has to be Negril, Jamaica. The water was so clear; I could stand in water up to my chin and still see the color of my toenail polish.

My favorite place to “just be” is right here at home. We moved quite a bit for work and getting back to Texas was always the end goal.

 Shey.  Jamaica? Milady’s Book-Club may shortly be contacting you. We’ve done blogs here on locations featuring in books. Any inspiring ones that have featured in yours? Now Jerrie, I ain’t talking that horse box, because you are known for gritty stories with dark plots!

Jerrie. I used Atlanta for the setting of The Last Execution and a small town thirty minutes away from the city. Newnan, Georgia is called The City of Homes because of the beautiful, historical old homes. You can drive through and half expect Scarlet O’Hara and Rhett Butler to wave from the porch. While writing the story, I wanted to use that area, so I let my hero’s grandmother live there.

house2

Shey. Any tips for getting rid of her again? Or can I be in your next book please? You’re obviously way too generous to your characters. I thought you said you liked to torture ’em? And while we’re about it, I really would like to meet Rhett. Can you manage that too? Seriously what is  your process of writing, given its suspense? Were you a plotter or a pantser when writing The Last Execution?

Jerrie. A panster all the way! I wish I could plot. Really! I’ve tried, taken classes from the best authors, but when I start a story, let my characters tell me what happens next.

Shey. All this grit, who is your fav villain ever?

Jerrie. Without a doubt, the vigilante in The Last Execution. He’d lost touch with reality and really believed his kills were righteous.

Shey. Well, they are the scariest ones aren’t they, because you’re not going to convince them otherwise. You immersing yourself in all that suspense Jerrie, how about you let your hair down and quickie tell us the following other favs.

Flower?

The red peony. We’ve tried and tried to grow them and failed every time.peony

Month?

June. Our wedding anniversary is in June. And that’s the month school’s out and we take our snorkel trip.

Animal?

Dog. I spotted this tiny dog in our backyard one morning. (We didn’t have any pets at the time) Poor thing couldn’t lift his head off the grass. We took him to the veterinarian, and she patched him up. She said from the looks of him, he’d been thrown him away, and been bitten by a big dog. So he came home with us. That was over a year ago. Buddy weighs in at a robust eleven pounds and has found his forever home.

Dish?

That’s a tough one. If I have to choose only one, I’d take boiled shrimp with a good red sauce. But then again, my long time love for sweets leads me to say bread pudding or tiramisu.

Shey. SO there we go. I sympathize re the peonies being to gardening what I am to baking…..

TheLastExecution_w7178_7502The Last Execution blurb:

To survive, she must put the past behind her. To love, she must learn to trust.

Homicide detective Leigh McBride’s first assignment with the FBI brings her face-to-face with a past she’s tried hard to forget. And when her temporary partner, a cynical ex-marine, lights a fire in her she thought long-extinguished, her darkest secret is threatened.

Scarred both physically and emotionally, Special Agent J. T. Noble is a man of few words. He prefers to keep people at a distance—until he meets Leigh. He’s attracted to her strength and drawn in by her secrecy. But in their line of work, secrets can be deadly.

When the killer they are hunting aims his vigilante justice at Leigh’s past assailant, the fine line between right and wrong blurs. To heal the past—and find their future together—Leigh and J. T. must learn that only through trust and forgiveness can love grow.

The Last Execution excerpt:

 Ethan turned his head sideways as he studied J.T.’s face. Wide eyed, the boy pointed at the scar with his index finger. J.T. wasn’t surprised. The kid was probably curious.

“How’d you get that?”

“A piece of shrapnel—” He paused and considered Ethan’s age. “I was in the war. A bomb went off and a piece of metal smacked me in the face.”

“Does it hurt?”

“Not anymore.” J.T. marveled at the innocence in Ethan’s eyes.

“Can I touch it?”

“I guess so.” J.T. breathed in and waited. Ethan hesitated, leaning closer.

“I’m not supposed to talk about your scar.”

“Who said?”

“Mama.”

“It’s okay. I won’t tell.”

J.T. turned his head to the side. No one had outright asked to touch the constant reminder of a day when his best friend caught the worst of an IUD. Hell, people shied away from his right side. Except Leigh, she looked him square in the face. He lay still while Ethan poked a finger into the scar a couple of times. After a few seconds of investigation, the kid cupped the scar with his small hand and patted lightly. The oddest thing happened to J.T.’s heart. It swelled inside his chest and then clenched.

“Mama said you were a brave soldier.”

Alien emotions swirled through J.T. and an unexplained urge to hug Ethan put a weird lump in J.T.’s throat. Unable to cope or understand, his mind raced for an idea, anything to end the moment.

YOU CAN FIND JERRIE HERE

http://www.jerriealexander.com – website

http://www.jerriealexander.com/category/blog/

http://www.twitter.com/jerriealexander

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jerrie-Alexander /121521571355959?ref=hl

http://www.goodreads.com/jerriealexander

Buy links:

http://www.amazon.com/The-Last-Execution-ebook/dp/B00BK9QU9K/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1365245740&sr=8-1&keywords=The+Last+Execution

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/jerrie-alexander?keyword=jerrie+alexander&store=book

http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/maincatalog_v151/index.php?main_page=advanced_search_result&search_in_description=1&keyword=jerrie+alexander&x=30&y=14

About Jerrie Alexander

A student of  creative writing in her youth, Jerrie set aside her passion when life presented her with a John Wayne husband, and two wonderful children.  A career in logistics offered her the opportunity to travel to many beautiful locations in America, and she revisits them in her romantic suspense novels.

But the characters went with her, talked to her, and insisted she share their dark, sexy stories with others.  She writes alpha males and kick-ass women who weave their way through death and fear to emerge stronger because of, and on occasion in spite of, their love for each other.  She likes to torture people, make them suffer, and if they’re strong enough, they live happily ever after.

The author of THE GREEN-EYED DOLL, and THE LAST EXECUTION, Jerrie and her husband live in Texas. She loves sunshine, children’s laughter, sugar (human and granulated), and researching for her heroes and heroines.