Tags

, , , , , ,

Oh God, another helpful post on that. Just what you don’t want to read on a wet Wednesday if you’ve just received your twentieth rejection slip of the day on your perfectly crafted  manuscript and the sugar bowl is all out of sugar so you can’t even sweeten the coffee and that drip, drip sound isn’t just your enthusiasm dripping away but a leaking roof tile.

Can’t these slimy  authors just feck the hell off with their success stories and leave you alone to your misery?

crying

Well.  You will be dancing on your leaking roof to know we can’t. Because today I am going to introduce you to a special guest. Polly Positive. .  crying

Oops sorry. Just what you don’t need to see on a wet Wednesday… No. Here she is.

crying

Polly isn’t actually mine before you don the boxing mitt and smack her where the sun doesn’t shine. She belongs to author Sharon Struth. Oh dear….another author shoving their success stories and their buy links in your face. Mine are over the page by the way

But the fact is it is a lottery getting a publisher. and while we’re busily getting our teeth kicked in, on the prowl we do hear all these marvellously depressing  success stories.  There’s even me oh blah, boast, six days to Etopia Press.  We don’t always hear of the dark moments behind them. The years behind the six days. The times we think ..right that’s it.

Personally I’ve recently come across two fabulous articles. One by author and writing pal, Noelle Clark–oh that’s another thing we do, blab about our fabulous writing buddies. Noelle’s article is a very nice piece though about writers who weren’t in the first flush of youth when they finally made it.

cry

Hey! Not as depressing as all that. You can read it here.  http://www.noelleclarkauthor.com/2013/05/late-bloomers-are-budding-with-great.html

The second was by Sharon Struth. She talked so honestly of her struggle to find a publisher, I’ve asked her here today.

SharonWebPic

Shey. I wasn’t actually  first drawn to you as a fellow writer because we share the same stable. It was Polly Positive. Sharon, can you tell us a little about that?

Sharon.  I’m so glad you liked Polly Positive, who publically appeared in a piece I had published in “Better after 50.”  She’s a constant companion, only veering from my side on occasion. I’m a true optimist, so naturally that helps a great deal in my new job as a writer. Here’s a link to my “Polly” story: http://betterafter50.com/2013/05/its-never-too-late-for-a-new-career/.

Shey. So how old were you when you started to write? Or is that big girl’s secret!?

Sharon. I became a full-time writer around five years ago, at the age of forty-eight.

Shey. Just how it feel when that phone didn’t ring?

Sharon.  I’m a realist. I knew that a writing career would take time, hard work and commitment. I knew it wasn’t for anybody lacking in a thick skin. My skin isn’t terribly thick but I had Polly Positive (you know, my sidekick mentioned above.) She reminded me to stay focused on my tasks, not worry about the outcome. chickeneditor

Shey.  Even when you had an agent? And still waited?

Sharon. Having my agent has been a true godsend. For the first time, I didn’t feel alone. I had an ally who wanted to see my work published, too. Sure, once she began to submit, we got rejections. I stayed positive, at least for a while…

Shey. I’m just thinking of the line from Braveheart here.

melAnd dying in your bed many years from now…. Was that an all time low? Did you consider giving up?

 Sharon. I had one dark moment where my writing career seemed so bleak that I went into total blackout mode. Polly Positive left my side and I was one step from getting out the “Want Ads” to find an office job to go to each day rather than my trusty computer. Well, the planets must have been in perfect alignment that day because that’s the exact moment my agent called with an offer on The Hourglass, my new release. I still can’t believe it happened that day but am thrilled that it did!

Shey. What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

Sharon. Learn everything you can, write every day and find other writers to hang out with (critique groups, professional groups, RWA etc.). Oh, most of all, never give up.

Shey. So there you are. Of course Sharon does have a book out. But I think we can only commend her on her steel teeth. Finish our coffee, phone a roofer AND get back to that manuscript.

TheHourglass_BySharonStruth-600x900Blurb for THE HOURGLASS by Sharon Struth:

Can forgiveness survive lies and unspoken truths?

Until Brenda McAllister’s husband committed suicide, she appeared to have the ideal life: a thriving psychology practice, success as a self-help author, and a model family. But her guilt over her affair with Jack’s best friend prevents her from moving on. Did Jack learn of her infidelity? Was she the cause of his death?

The release of Brenda’s second book forces her into an unexpected assignment with arrogant celebrity author CJ Morrison, whose irritating and edgy exterior hides the torment of his own mistakes. But as she grows closer to CJ, Brenda learns she wasn’t the only one with secrets—Jack had secrets of his own, unsavory ones that may have led to his death. While CJ helps Brenda uncover the truth about her husband, she finds the path to forgiveness isn’t always on the map.

Excerpt:

An unexpected gravitational pull swelled Brenda’s anger. Her cute quip ran into hiding. She no longer cared about winning this man’s favor. His rudeness left her feeling as if she’d been doused with hot coffee this time. Brenda clenched her fists. A year of internal browbeating over Jack’s suicide had left her easily irritated.

Brenda gripped the frail edges of her self-control. “I once again offer my apologies for the accident, by definition an unplanned event with lack of intent.” He looked down his sturdy, Grecian nose at her, so she stood and put her hands on her hips. “Shouldn’t you, as a writer, know that?”

Every line on his face tensed. “I could do without your sarcasm.” He leaned closer. “Thanks to you, I missed my meeting. Maybe tomorrow morning you could get room service.”

The brunette unleashed a tight smirk. CJ motioned for them to move on.

Brenda fumbled for a good retort. As he stepped away, the last word went with him. The same way Jack had the last word in their life together. A silent explosion went off inside Brenda’s head and propelled her anger forward.

“Mr. Morrison?” She raised her voice to be heard above the crowd.

He looked over his shoulder and arched a questioning eyebrow.

Brenda crossed her arms and fixed a phony smile as she nodded toward his companion. “It’s so nice of you to bring your daughter to the conference.”

 FOR A TRAILER AND BOOK GROUP QUESTIONS, VISIT: www.thehourglassnovel.com

 Buy THE HOURGLASS at:

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/The-Hourglass-ebook/dp/B00CIX1YDO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1369939228&sr=8-1&keywords=the+hourglass+struth

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-hourglass-sharon-struth/1115199538?ean=2940016552453

 Kobo: http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/The-Hourglass/book-bZt6Dbk3kkuXEZC0m2PStg/page1.html

 All Romance E-books: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-thehourglass-1173513-149.html

                                ~ About the Author ~

Novelist Sharon Struth believes you’re never too old to pursue a dream. The Hourglass, her debut novel, received first place in the Dixie Cane Memorial Contest and second place in the Golden Heart. She writes from the friendliest place she’s ever lived, Bethel, Connecticut, along with her husband, two daughters and canine companions. For more information, including where to find her published essays, please visit www.sharonstruth.com