Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

rome2

Ah the pleasure it is today to host  Christine Elaine Black and help her promote her book Taurus which is FREE on kindle for four days. Yes. Firstly she’s a Wild Rose Press author– always good to step out the comfort zone that way and get to know authors from other publishers. But Christine  I pounced on in a second–poor her– because her book is set in ancient Rome. She was born in Scotland for goodness sake!

What is more she next sent a post saying all she remembered from Latin classes was the name Flavius. I have to say I remember a lot from Latin classes–like being flung out of them eventually. I also remember three things.

roman 33

Pyrrhus was the king of Epirus. The Rape of the Sabine Women. AND Flavius Betto was a young Roman Legionary on Hadrian’s Wall who carved his name into the Flavy stone,  seen here with my pal Lora.

img127

Now, I grant you may have heard of the first two. We did all the time from a particular Latin teacher. Indeed it was all he taught.  Which out next Latin teacher was shocked to discover.

The third thing is more elusive. It was also something our teacher Mr Bett taught. Indeed he used to read stories from a little brown book, which I am ashamed to say, Lora and I, being convinced this could not possibly be the case, once broke into his classroom to check. The name, as we discovered by torchlight, was Flavius Cavatina. The old goat was certainly a blether. (Sure Lora will kill me for making us sound like a couple of hoods.)

But here’s the thing Flavius Betto was a centurion of the 20th legion Valeria Victrix and he did indeed have dealings with various walls.  The discovery wasn’t made until many years after we had left the Latin class.  Was Mr Bett a sort of er Flying –Roman–Dutchman?

Anyway, enough of me. It my great pleasure to introduce Christine Elaine Black and her post on Roman names.

CHOOSING A HERO’S NAME? by Christine Elaine Black

rom22

I’m fascinated with Roman heroes. One of the difficulties I have is choosing a name for my leading men. 

Atticus, Augustinus, Augustus, Aurelius,  Aelius,  Acanthus,  Acestes, Aegidius, Aegyptus, Aelius, Aeneas, Aficanus, Agricolus Agrippa, Amicus, Antonius……. You get the idea!!

There are so many to choose from and each has a special meaning.
Lots of readers (mainly men) ask me if I chose the name Maximus due to the famous Gladiator movie..

rus

I hadn’t even thought of that when I wrote the book. I just loved the name.
Also the name Taurus spoke to me. Well it is the zodiac ‘bull’ and my Taurus is single-minded. All I remember from high school Latin is Flavia and Flavius. A bit like Dick and Jane but for Latin readers!bborn and single-minded.

If you have a favorite Latin name or story I’d love to hear it!

                                                     ………..

SO there we go. Mine is obviously Flavius and er Dick and Jane I have to say not as we knew it. As you can see below Christine’s story is free right now, so if you want to read or share, please support her.taurus promo banner

Taurus_w7724_750

Link to Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/Taurus-ebook/dp/B00C1MDDOU/

Blurb: Rebellious and strong-willed, Kalliassa flees a political betrothal arranged by her brother, the emperor of Rome. She runs to the one man capable of preventing the match — her brother’s sworn enemy. Unwittingly, she throws her fortunes into the hands of a man pledged to destroy Roman rule.

Taurus, proud Governor of Panua, would do anything to provoke the emperor, even ruin an imperial sister. But Kallie is like no woman he’s ever met, and she tests his strength of will and his solemn vow to end the reign of her family forever. Can true love overcome lust, lies, and deceit?

Excerpt: The parchment rolled out of Kallie’s hand and fell to the floor with a sharp oath directed at the author. How dare the emperor use her as a pawn in his game of politics! The love and trust she had placed in him as a small girl, watching from afar as their grandfather groomed him for greatness, shriveled in the brutal realization that he now ruled with complete disregard for his family. Marriage! To a man at least three times her age, ruler of a desert country, and with a harem of wives and concubines, no less. The only choice appeared to be swift action to avoid the imperial order. On unsteady legs she ran for the stables.

The horses stamped impatiently, and Kallie glanced around for the boy normally on duty at this time of day. “Sergius, are you in here?” A rumble of laughter greeted her.

“Should you not be dressed for dinner in fine ladylike attire?”

Kallie squealed with delight. “Uncle Atticus! You have arrived at a most propitious moment.”

“Have I indeed.” Her uncle, in truth her father’s uncle, had taught all the children in the Gregorian household the most efficient and effective skills of survival in the roughest conditions. “And why are you dressed as a boy?”

“I’m running away.”

Atticus eyed her with skepticism. “From what?”

“Our esteemed emperor has ordered me to marry, and I won’t do it.”

“Hah,” Atticus grunted. “If you wait until after I eat and refresh my water supply, I’ll go with you.”

“But why? You will incur the wrath of my brother.”

“I have my reasons.” Atticus scratched his bushy beard, a twinkle lighting his dark eyes.

“Where can we hide from the entire Roman Empire?” Kallie mused.

“I know a place, but it will require cunning, and could be dangerous.” Her uncle chuckled with his usual good humor.

Kallie’s mind glowed at the possibility of escaping her brother’s reach. The great emperor, Caius Gregorian, would not be amused.

Christine can be found. http://christineelaineblack.blogspot.com/

www.facebook.com/christineelaine.black

https://twitter.com/Elaine20Black