Tags

, , , , , ,

Talking of interrupting normal service I can’t resist sharing this shipping broadcast transcript…

557916_159901180834424_1548349701_n

All right, today it’s a good excuse to rest the chair and tie in with Katya Armock’s blog tour. Yesterday did result in a character being rushed off to hospital after all. The word on twitter last night was he was still pretty peed off–while recovering nicely of course.

Things need to cool down before Antonia Van Zandt  takes to the hot seat tomorrow. Although since this is her Karl muse

Josh_Holloway

I’m not sure how it will all turn out. However the fact she’s already in the cold shower fills me with hope.

Now today I am interviewing Katya about her new book released on Friday there.  So maybe things won’t be that calm since she’s still leaping up and down in the wings there, still shouting YES!! as you do. 

Not only that but when it comes to how to introduce this book, To Hiss Or To Kiss,  I have but one thng to say…Move over Doctor Dolittle.

Q. Katya, you’re a debut novelist. How crazy has that been, just to see your name in print finally?

A: It’s exciting, scary and humbling. Overall, it is just plain surreal.

Q. So tell us a little about your inspiration because your heroine seems especially determined to help animals cope with stress. Is there a bit of you in there at all? Or does Chloe just have good reason to prefer being with animals?

 A: I’m a total animal lover and have always enjoyed being around animals—generally much more than people. In those ways, Chloe and I are alike. I don’t have any childhood trauma about people, though, the way Chloe does. I’m just a dyed in the wool introvert! Chloe withdrew because her psychic ability to speak with animals separated her from other people. She also has trust issues because her mother abandoned her when she was ten.

 I have volunteered at animal shelters for most of my adult life, primarily socializing young animals and helping animals deal with the stress of change. I’m also a Veterinary Technician, so I’ve seen a lot of stressed animals in my day.

 Q. What’s your favorite animal film. Now don’t tell us it involves a talking to them doctor!!!

dr-dolittle

A:  I can never answer the question of what my favorite movie, book, musician, song, etc. is. I can never just pick one. I will say though that I avoid watching movies where animals die. Crying my eyes out just isn’t something I want from a movie!!!

Q  Well, saving on the hankies then do you have a favorite animal?

A: This I can answer. Cats. I’ve always related to cats more than any other animal, but I love them all.

Q. Saying nothing about the ginger cat here, just showing you all a picture of two nice moggies.  cats-wallpaper-1152x864

Also moving swiftly on, asking Katya to tell us a little about her  hero Jorge’s past.

A: Jorge is his parents’ golden child, so he grew up with a lot of pressure. Even though his family is very loving, his mother, in particular, is a little overbearing, which is probably why he lives in a different country than his parents. He grew up in Belize, where his mother’s family is from, but he went to college in the U.S., and his father is from Ohio originally. His parents started living part-time in Scotland when he was a teen. So he’s pretty comfortable in a lot of settings.

He’s the only shape-shifter in his immediate family, so that made him a bit of a loner. He’s also intellectual and a bit of a nerd.

Q.  Scotland eh! Where this interview is going live out from today, Katya! What are their future plans?

A: Good question. I just finished the manuscript for a sequel, so you’ll have to wait to find out!!

Q.  Do you intend to explore animal themes further in future works though?

A: I think animals will always be characters in my books—and not just as shape-shifters. They are so much fun to write about and bring a lot of humor to my books. I’m always amazed by how animals hang on to their loving spirit even after going through incredible abuse. Sometimes it takes work for them to trust humans again, but it is always worth whatever it takes.

Chloe is the only character I’m working with right now who can talk with animals. However, humans are animals too. We relate to the natural world affects both us and everything else living on this planet.

So there we go ladies and gentlemen. It only remains for me to thank Katya for coming alonjg and wish her the best of luck with her blog tour.  OH!! and of course to show you this..ToHissOrToKiss_ByKatyaArmok-453x680

Her blurb…Chloe can “talk” to animals…so why can she hear the thoughts of this hot, green-eyed man?

Abandoned by her mother and raised by a father who’d given up on life, Chloe doesn’t let anyone get close. Lucky for her, she can communicate with animals—telepathically. Her long hours at the animal shelter help her cope with the stress, and the animals are the only people she needs. But when a suspected dog-fighting ring comes to her attention, Chloe decides to do a little spying. And in her rush to win the dogs’ trust, she almost gets herself caught.

Until a sexy stranger intervenes, and she finds she can overhear his thoughts. She’s never been able to hear people, and this man’s about as sexy as she’s ever seen. It’s more than intellectual curiosity that drives her to discover his secret: he’s a jaguar shape-shifter, and the presence of this cat among the dogs might be a bit too much to handle. But the animal attraction is just too hot to resist, and the passion between them makes both the sparks—and the fur—fly…

Her buy links  

Her bio :

I like books that are funny and fun to read (and hot!) but also make me think or look at the world in a new way. I am influenced by magic realism, comparative mythology, and esoteric spiritual practices from around the world.

I spent too many years chasing someone else’s definition of success. My life simplified, I returned to my first love of writing.

These days you’ll find me writing, pet sitting, juggling a number of freelance gigs, and reigning as my home’s domestic goddess. I live in the Midwestern U.S. with my husband, dog and cats. Alas, I have, as of yet, been unable to teach my husband how to purr.

Website: http://katyaarmock.com/

Oh…and go have that cold shower too in preparation for tomorrow.