Tags

, , , , ,

I bet you think I’m going to blog on something really topical to a romance writer, like warnings on books. No, no, I am not even going to blog as promised on the further adventures of the ginger moggie at the cinema, although I was at the cinema this week.

I was also asked this week to come by and be Incy Black’s guest on her new website.  Right away I thought Caribbean Delights.

Andy_Garcia_XX

No. Sorry Andy, especially knowing how much people would like that. Instead I chose a subject dear to my heart. A subject Incy deserves to be applauded for allowing me on her blog to talk about. Cooking

calll

I shared recipes with Incy. No. Not my Steak Broccolaise one, which I have to say was revolting by the way, largely because of the ham in it, but other things too.

I shared the ones from Lady Fury.  Do you know brocolaise soup rates a mention? Well, at least it is green soup. I thought I would leave the rest to the readers’ imagination as to whether it might even be a mushy pea one.

Incy deserves to be supported and you can of course do so by putting Incy Black at Weebly into your seach engines.

So today is actually the launch of a week’s extravaganza. Not of recipes, but of chosen authors being in the hot chair. I mean as writers our aim is to bring our characters to life. Just imagine if they were… Imagine too, if they didn’t want to be in your book….  

The First Wife returns… (faux American accent here)

Emily Marchant interrogates her author, paranormal horror writer, Catherine Cavendish, asking just why she should  be her latest book, The Second Wife.

EMILY  Ah the Second Wife….  And I’m the first? Can you give me one good reason why I should do this? The book’s not even named after me,  now is it?

CAT. Well, Emily, first of all, I’m a bit nervous in your company. May I sit down? (Looks around and gives a certain chair a wide berth). Definitely not that one. I’ll sit on this nice comfy settee.

(Sits). That’s better. If only my hands would stop shaking. Please, could you not stare at me like that. Your gaze is very penetrating. I’m not surprised you scared the life out of poor Chrissie… OK, clearly you’re not going to. Oh well, here goes. You’ve seen your picture on the cover of the book. Everyone says it’s beautiful. And then, there’s always the film version. I mean, how could you resist the opportunity to be portrayed by Charlize Theron? And Joe could be played by the delectable Christian Bale. Look at these pictures…  Charlize_Theron

Christian_Bale

EMILY.  Hmm….Temptingly delicious. If I were alive maybe.  But I’m dead….right? Why’s that?

CAT.  You died from cancer, tragically young. Of course, that means you never grew old. Never got wrinkles.

EMILY.  I was a nice person though? I mean that’s why people find me unforgettable? My delectable looking husband especially?

 CAT. (Shifts uncomfortably). Um…well…not exactly. Oh, to the outside world, yes. You performed many charitable works and Joe worshipped you. He never really stopped grieving. Chrissie found you a tough act to follow, as you were perceived as something of a saint.

But you’re perfect for this story because, as you know, Emily (takes a deep breath), there’s a darkness within you.

 EMILY. So this is fact a sort of shades of Rebecca? You want me in something that’s all been done before?

MV5BMTM5ODA4ODMzM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwOTA2NTEwNA@@__V1_SX214_

CAT.  Any resemblance between The Second Wife  and Rebecca is purely coincidental.

EMIlLY. That line – ‘if only she’d stayed dead’ – that means I live again?

 CAT.  Oh yes, you do. And with fatal consequences…

EMILY. Now that sounds interesting……

TheSecondWife_ByCatherineCavendish_200x300

Emily Marchant died on Valentine’s Day. If only she’d stayed dead…

When Chrissie Marchant first sets eyes on Barton Grove, she feels as if the house doesn’t want her. But it’s her new husband’s home, so now it’s her home as well. Sumptuous and exquisitely appointed, the house is filled with treasures that had belonged to Joe’s first wife, the perfect Emily, whom the villagers still consider the real mistress of Barton Grove.

A stunning photograph of the first Mrs. Marchant hangs in the living room, an unblemished rose in her hand. There’s something unnerving and impossibly alive about that portrait, but it’s not the only piece of Emily still in the house. And as Chrissie’s marriage unravels around her, she learns that Emily never intended for Joe to take a second wife…

Catherine Cavendish lives in North Wales with her husband and a slightly eccentric tortoiseshell cat. She has had a lifelong fascination with the paranormal which intensified when she herself saw a ghost. When not creating paranormal stories, Cat loves to visit haunted locations and surround herself with books (not necessarily at the same time). She is currently working on a new paranormal horror story.

The Second Wife is available from

Amazon.com

Amazon.ca  

Amazon.co.uk

Barnes and Noble

Kobo 

You can find Cat here:

www.catherinecavendish.com

http://www.facebook.com/CatherineCavendish

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4961171.Catherine_Cavendish

http://twitter.com/#!/cat_cavendish

https://plus.google.com/u/0/109439758903132910470/posts

TOMORROW FAITH ASLINN WILL BE IN THE CHAIR.