Tags

,

Finally an exciting week. I finished my WIP. Yay!  And went back to going over my first book. Both have been requested so that’s an even bigger YAY. I had an offer to bring the Lady Fury publication date forward. NAY. Wussed that but there we are. I have put an extract on my books page–don’t read if you are a fan of purple prose and cookie-cut heroines. Oh and I went to see Les Miserables. I really liked the bit at the start. The bit with Puss In Boots. I know you might be thinking Puss In Boots isn’t in Les Miserables. And you would be  right. The cinema have this new thing though for the hearing and visually impaired where they show this bit of Puss In Boots minus sound, then they show this bit minus visual. The visual description about the ginger cat in a blue hat chasing a speck of light was fascinating. I wondered what they do with the sex scenes. Not in Puss in Boots since there’s none. So far as I know anyway though that’s not to say Puss isn’t at it behind the scenes.  I meant other films. I ran a little commentary.

600full-puss-in-boots_-the-three-diablos-screenshot

My daughters said they were not taking me anywhere again.  Actually, except for maybe one ahem no names mentioned performance, Les Miz was very good. The book is a fav but I ain’t into all this onscreen warbbling, so….

Anyway today the wind is howling, the hail is pelting but we have Emily Guido beamed here despite that.  Emily is a new Paranormal Romance Author. She was inspired to start writing “The Light-Bearer Series”  because one day she got an idea of two characters that needed to have their story told. She pictures the characters in her head going through vivid descriptions of each scene. So to talk of movies is appropriate and you thought I was just wandering. There are so many nuances going through her mind that she cannot type fast enough.  The novels “Charmeine,” “Mactus,” “Accendo,” “Seditious,” and “Ransom,” are the continuation of the wonderful adventures of the inhabitants of The Castle Charmeine!

EmilyGuido_AuthorPic_3The bonnie Emily Guido  

Emily is currently writing “Conundrum” the Sixth Novel in “The Light-Bearer Series” She is currently working at a College full time, and pursuing her Master of Business Administration. Personally putting all that aside, she loves Chopin’s music and so do I.

Q Emily, I read on your site that you tried all the publishers for your first book, “Charmeine,” and after crying into your wine a bit, as many of us have done on occasion about the rejections, you decided to self-publish. How did you find that?

 A: Because I didn’t know anything about publishing at all… it was very hard, and I learned some very hard lessons. 

I learned I needed to get an edit of my book, pay all the money to copyright, royalties to cover models, ISBN fees  and so on, self-promote my books all over the place, ask and/or beg for reviews and most important of all be prepared not to make one penny from your books.  I have been doing this a year and have never been in the black expense-wise. I realistically do not plan on making any money.  As a new author, I want people to read my book, so I have given 99% of them away!

 However, I made friends with very fine Reviewers and Authors who have helped me along and really been a Godsend.  My advice for anyone thinking about becoming a self-published Author is to talk to others in the field.  They are your best resource and friends!

 Q But then, after you published your second book, you accepted a contract with PDMI publishing. How’s that been?

 A: I love the cover book designer and the actual hard book designer.  They make my book look like a masterpiece. I really like having PDMI as a freelance publisher.  I have nothing but good things to say about being with a small publisher.  I get immediate assistance and help with anything that I ask for.  For freelance, I would recommend them highly.

d2f23036d161088be7944ad8e1055a7f

   Q. I have to say Emily your output is staggering. Your writing is too. But you first put pen to paper – seriously that is – when? 

A: I started writing 14 months ago in November of 2012.  I have 5 books and four short stories that still have to be published.  Yes, I write a lot.  However, my mind is like a movie, and I don’t even think about what I write.  I guess that makes the process a lot faster than normal.  I don’t use an outline or notes, nothing… it’s all in my noggin’.

Q And you’ve since done?!!

 A: I am working on the 6th novel, “Conundrum” in “The Light-Bearer Series.”  It is a continuation of the two ill-fated and totally opposite lovers, Tabbruis and Charmeine.  They are battling evil once again and this Lucifer’s minion hits close to home endangering their family.

Untitled-3

 I have had to put “Conundrum” on the back-burner because of self-promotion and editing. But those things have to be done! However, I work full-time and go to MBASchool full-time, so the only time I get to do anything is in the middle of the night.  Sometimes, I get really worn out, and I have to take a day or two vacation from writing, editing or self-promotion.

 Q. Won’t ever whine again!! Who is your favorite character in the series and why?

 A: I really love Dmitri, he is Tabbruis’ oldest friend.  He is a very old Blood-Hunter, who has a wicked sense of humor and gives balance to the terrifying situations Tabbruis and Charmeine are in. Plus he is drop-dead gorgeous… tall, long black hair, built and deep blue eyes!  “Oh my…” is his catch phrase.  He’s very observant and seems to know how to handle any problem.  Dmitri is the wisest person in the series.  Like I said, he’s an Adonis plus!

 Q. Ooh, I am just imagining that description for the visually impaired! Seriously, I love this star-crossed lovers, polar opposites bit, it is February, we all know the special day that happens during February and we all know how opposites attract, why are they such opposites?

A: Tabbruis and Charmeine were united in Heaven and for a reason that will be revealed in later books, why they are separated.  I wanted a story told about a love that would last an eternity… but with that love there would be sorrow, struggles and problems to overcome. “Charmeine” is a wonderful love story of two star-crossed, ill-fated lovers.  Charmeine is such a wonderfully powerful character that I had really no other choice than to title the first of the series after her.  She is beautiful, strong, kind, loving, accepting and filled with honesty. Well, of course, I am attached to Charmeine, but I am truly bowled over by Tabbruis and his brokenness.  I love strong male characters that are a little bit broken… a little bit anti-social and a ton of gorgeous!   Really it is about Tabbruis and Charmeine, but also their family!  They battle all sorts of evil on the Earth.  Their family continues to grow but love and romance remain the focus of the series.db25d4d6d6a0c76dc4fd181044ca5938

 Q  Sounds fabulous. Are Charmeine and Tabbrius going to get that special Valentine’s Day off from battling their trials and tribulations? Or are you going to torture them all the way? Because it didn’t look like they enjoyed Disneyland, you bad author you!

A: Oh they get a wonderful super-mini honeymoon to Antigua in “Seditious.”  It is way hot and steamy, they both LOVE the ocean, beach and sun so much.  It’s really a wonderful reconciliation between them, and was so romantic, I was crying through a box of Kleenex cheering them on!  I love stories of redemption and love!

 Q Oh same here, absolutely. Seriously, do they have anything special planned for each other, like a Valentine’s Day dinner? I mean, who is the cook in this relationship!

A: Tabbruis is always very romantic, and he LOVES to spoil Charmeine. They both love to ride their horses, Tristan and Isolde, to the cabana on their private beach and spend the whole day together playing… whether it is in the water or not… hubba, hubba!  Tabbruis drinks blood, but he always has Oksana, their housekeeper, whip up wonderful meals for Charmeine.  So I will say that their Valentine’s Day will be very romantic and sweet.  I’m sure Tabbruis will make sure of that.

2644742385_7a745ababfQ Have they bought one another a special gift?

 A: Charmeine LOVES roses!  Tabbruis plans on suprizing her with a romantic horse ride to their beach, a room full of roses, and a wonderful special dinner with music and dancing.  He’s already picked out his tux and her dress for the occasion.  I tell ya, he’s going to give her a night to remember that’s for sure.

 Q  Ooh. Pretty sweating then for those trying to give the visually impaired a description. Emily, what about yourself that day? Any special plans?

 A: I based a lot of Charmeine on my loves like the beach, horses and roses.  I based a lot of Tabbruis on my husband like he loves it when he pats his chest, and I lay my head while he wraps his arms around me.  My husband tries to be romantic, but it’s hard with our busy schedules to get together.  We will probably enjoy a nice dinner and snuggle in bed watching a romantic comedy.

 And there we have it. Emily Guido author of

 “The Light-Bearer Series”
Book One        “Charmeine”
Book Two        “Mactus”
Book Three     “Accendo”
Book Four       “Seditious”
Book Five        “Ransom”

 Thanks so much for coming along today.  Emily can be found at all of the following.