Tags

, , , ,

Well authors do, don’t they? That’s why I thought today, rather than banging on about it, with ten tips on how not to do it, I’d just show you instead. Show, not tell, being one of these mantras on a par with I shall not bake cakes again. I shall not bake cakes.

At least it’s a writing mantra. I don’t know if bakers have mantras because I think I can tell I am obviously not a baker, which doesn’t stop me saying to you, I have put comments…yes, about my cover, on my books page tab and who knows if anyone wants to add to them, I might just put the lot in a hat and give away something spectacular to the lucky winner. Like a nice, home-baked cake. Or a photo-shopped pic of one.

There. Now, that’s it. Promo done. Today’s blog is actually going to be what last one’s was meant to be. Actually today’s blog was meant to be a guest blog, of which I have some lovely pictures and the confidence the text will follow.

Seriously the lovely Milly Taiden, who I interviewed in September, presently climbs the Amazon bestseller list with her new release Wynter’s Captive, so she’s mega busy on the promo trail. My other great news is that the equally lovely Incy Black, my last guest blogger, and special writing pal, has just signed with Entangled.  Yay, That they have both appeared here is purely co-incidental and nothing to do with this blog’s properties……

Right, so what is this post going to be about? Well, of course it being January 25th  what else can it be about? Tonight is Burns’ Night. No, it’s okay, this isn’t a post on Burns’ Suppers because frankly, when it comes to droning on to the tune of Here Comes a Mighty Haggis,  and The Tatties are Coming hurrah hurrah,

I prefer fish ones.  But the Bard was famed for being a great romantic – to say the least. And when I googled great Scottish romantics, I was a bit put out to see what came up first which I don’t quite know what it says about the Scots as a people.

gb

As it’s not very much, unless you’re into bestiality, I thought I would sound the horn for the romantic places of Scotland, especially as my favorite was recently voted top of the list and poor Rabbie Burns never got a menshie despite being a great lover.

 Gretna Green.

gretNo. Being a visitor centre this isn’t my favorite. Not that I’ve anything against them, apart from the fact you can’t get parked and then people stand on your feet when you do. Guided tours now… Did I really just say the Scots weren’t romantics? Well, I don’t know about that but Scotland was the only place in Britain where you could marry at the age of 12 without parental consent. What was more you didn’t need a priest or a minister. Just a blacksmith to perform the ceremony, so keen were we Scots to – quote my hero – get to it.  

Loch Lomond

lochOh please, don’t ask me why this is here – apart from the fact it’s beautiful. I mean no famous star-crossed Scottish lovers met here that I know of. But there is a song. And the song is famous. And it is about two lovers, so…of course it’s here.

St. Margaret’s Hope  st-margarets-hope

Hotly rumored to be the place the  English princess Margaret, first clapped eyes on Malcolm – the third Scottish king of that name, after a storm drove her ship north. Margaret being a very pious woman I am behaving myself. Whatever the truth of that storm story, the uncouth warrior king and her polar opposite, adored her for the duration of their married life.

 Sweetheart Abbey

seeAll right, I’m not sure about Lady Devorgilla loving her man so much she carted his embalmed heart about in a silver box with ivory trimmings. Personally it sounds a bit like the kind of thing some of heroines might do but not because they’re in any way in love. But how can I ignore a title like that?

 Glencoe

Lower Falls GlencoeOkay, Glencoe has had some bad press lately, with the Savile abuse scandal and  climbers killed there last weekend on the Bidean. But those who know it will argue it deserves its tag as most romantic place in Scotland. And I am one of those. And the most romantic place in it is the Lochan. You can read of it here. All right a bit of self promo – it’s on this blog.https://shehannemoore.wordpress.com/2012/09/10/she-had-seduced-him/

We also know Glencoe had bad press before in 1692.

Happy Burns’ Night y’all. And mind the hochmagandy.