Tags

, , ,

 Well, what else are friends for? Yes what a week, what a sodding week. The last time I heard these words, it was in connection with a friend, several bags of dung and her front lawn, on which they had been unloaded – note the careful use of the word – by some old gent keen to profit from his enterprise.

Only it was day not week and sodding wasn’t the word he used when she told him flatly to remove them. 

Anyway I have seen and been knocked out by the first draught of my cover for The Unraveling of Lady Fury. Ooh, it all seems real to me now.  And then, I was tagged by the said Mz Black in the ‘Next Big Thing’ Blog Tour.  You have to understand she accepted the challenge to see if curiosity did indeed kill the cat. No. No. I am not going to make any remarks here re that. Incy has already suffered enough and I don’t live near. 

As she hasn’t mastered the art of tagging, any more than I have, the chain could well stop here.  But Charley Descoteaux, and Lindsay J. Pryor, Peter Romilly, I am giving it to you, with that same sense of guilt, although you might have already been tagged….in which case that’s a loop. You can see Incy Black and I get a real thrill out all this social writer’s stuff. And it’s write up our alleys. If any other writer wants to help me out here…please leave a comment and I will happily tag you. Well, I will happily mention you here and then you too can do the interview. Hello there Skylar Jaye. Consider yourself tagged.

So here’s my answers, because that is what this Blog Tour is all about.

What is the title of my current work in progress?

 To Love a Thief.  At least I think it is. I have been running with the working title TWAT. It sounds better if you sound it out than TLAT.  No. Trust me. Seriously it does.

 Where did the idea come from for the book?

It didn’t. I just made it up.  What is my saying on the beginning and the end? That’s all I ever see. In this case it was a coach, a pretty woman, an emerald necklace. It’s like a movie scene what I see. One scene only. So I just start. The stakes develop from there, because the stakes are the story. With The Unraveling of Lady Fury, her stake is this. She needs an heir.

 What genre does your book fall under?

Historical..er… probably erotic.

 What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Ooh…How many can I audition? I like my heroes sexy. The kind you would lust after and the kind that then becomes a problem for a heroine who has such clear, unshakeable goals.  My heroines are feisty and beautiful. I don’t go for this rakehell falling for some stammering mouse who  can’t believe he’s looked at her.  I can’t believe it either. Can we have a sanity clause please too on this women behaving as they wouldn’t in the past, if the heroine won’t be bound by restraints and go look at at some of ballsy women who’ve been around throughout history. Start with Boadicea. The Wicked Lady did exist and maybe she wore pants Joan of Arc wasn’t a man.  

 But you know, they don’t make a lot of historicals these days. And really after  Incy B once mailed me a pic saying who is this guy. I want him for my muse and I had to say he was already taken, do you want biffed?….But we might hold a competition for guessing. Think of the prize you could win. You’d be helping me out if you could. Incy too. Think that is. Then we could raffle it.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

Only the man whose life she destroyed can prove she’s not who she says and now he’s living next door.

 Is your book self-published or represented by an agency?

Published? Right now it’s half done honey. You did say WIP…right? But I will be approaching Etopia. This far they’ve been great. I know they like to work with signed authors. And the cover for my forthcoming is….well I love what I’ve seen so far anyway. It’s so stunning and classy. They really do do their authors proud. No. No-one said say that. My arm is still in its socket. Typing this ain’t I?

How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

I tend to work in one draft. Just pity my editor here. The Unraveling of Lady Fury took four months. TWAT was on the go before it. It was on the go before my first finished manuscript too. You could say TWAT was my first. But while I had the story, I felt the kind of constraints I was trying to write it under, in terms of finding a publisher was making it too ye oldie fashioned….  So I put it aside at 15 thou words, because neither lead was the person I knew they would be, given their pasts. They were simply the mould I was trying to cram them in. 

One of the things I love about Etopia – no arm-twisting again – is they publish some things that are a little bit different. It’s given me the confidence to free this story from the shackles and write it the way I want, whatever happens. So I am now past the halfway mark at 52 thou words. That’s because it’s all gone so much more smoothly now I’ve stopped this wishy-washy thing with the hero gradually falling for the sad, mysterious and beautifully constrained neighbour who he fleetingly thinks might have wrecked his life – to go for the jugular instead. That is where he knows damn fine the conniving bitch did but he falls for her anyway.  

 What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Hey, I say the same as Incy Black here. Oh-ya don’t pigeon hole me. It’s the trying to reform Wicked Lady meets Lucifer re-ascending to heaven to wreak havoc. I think they will clash all right.

 Who or what inspired you to write this book?

 No-one. I just had this idea about the past catching up, big-time, just when you least  want it to. I mean she is trying to go straight right.

 What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

 What? Lady and Lucifer idea isn’t enough? Well, they first meet, ten years before the book opens on this magical Christmas Eve……..  And isn’t it just about the season to be jolly? It’s the first in a series. He makes a pretty outrageous proposal to her. What’s worse is she accepts.

 

The Wicked lady herself…Margaret Lockwood.